Reflection 1- Martin Garrix, the Youngest DJ…

Snehal Suresh Bondre
DesignThinkingfall
Published in
2 min readSep 21, 2021

Martin’s first ever track “Animals” dropped on 17 June 2013 and went straight to the top of the charts all over the world. It was the #1 dance track on charts worldwide and crossover to peak at No.21 on Billboard’s Hot 100, outdoing giant artists like Rihanna, Eminem, One Direction, Lady Gaga or Ellie Goulding. Want to know the crazy part over here? He was just 17 when he released this track and it changed his life ever since.

Whenever I listen to his songs, especially Animals, I just cannot help but compare my 17 year old self to him. When I was 17, I used to skip classes to hang out with my friends and barely keep up with the scores. I started to listen his songs around the same age. In July 2014(when he was just 17), he launched his first EP entitled Gold Skies, treating fans to five absolute gems: “Animals”, “Wizard”, “Tremor”, “Gold Skies” and “Proxy”. This is the same year he started playing in all the huge Music Festivals like Ultra, Coachella, Electric Zoo etc. See the difference? This is the difference between ordinary and extraordinary.

At such a young age, Martin Garrix was already collaborating with all the giant EDM artists like Tiesto, Avicii and Usher (these are the people who we dream of someday getting an autograph from). This made me realize that you are never too young to start thinking big and learning new things. Each time listening to his perfect songs made me understand that practice makes man perfect and if you really want to master something you need to start now!

Martin started creating music when he was 8 years old. He started doing that along with his regular life of attending school, gym, doing homework and all the other stuff that children do. He knew if he has to stand out he needs to keep going and that’s what he did. Looking at where he has reached now, at such a young age, inspires me to make my ordinary life better each day. If I need to stand out and become extraordinary, I need to get out of the loop by working harder each day and staying dedicated towards my goals. And if I ever get distracted or feel low I can just listen to his beautiful songs to boost my mood and get back into the race!

--

--