Reflection 1- Socrates Sculpture Park

Lauren Gerchow
DesignThinkingfall
Published in
2 min readSep 5, 2021

There is an NYC public park near my apartment in Astoria called Socrates Sculpture Park. This park was once an illegal dumping site and landfill, but was turned into an outdoor museum and sculpture exhibit that is beloved by the neighborhood. The vision of the artists and community members to create this museum in a park is incredibly creative to me. While the idea of cleaning up a space and using it as a park is important, the artists who created Socrates envisioned and carried out an even greater plan that has brought art, discussion, play, community, and a beautiful green space.

When I walk my dog in the park, the creativity of the space is apparent, but also so natural that it is subtle. Adults, children, dogs, artists, and performers interact simultaneously in the park and around the sculptures daily, sometimes focused on the sculptures specifically, but other times simply enjoying the park for being a park. Being a visitor at the park, you can experience art in an approachable and educational manner, unlike any museum or gallery I have ever been to.

The pandemic has made me appreciate the creativity of the original vision of what the park could be even more. I felt so lucky in Spring and Summer 2020 to have a place where I could view pieces of art, watch artists at work, breathe fresh air, and feel like a part of a community.

--

--