Reflection 1 — Waacking Dance Form

Meghana Anaparthy
DesignThinkingfall
Published in
2 min readSep 18, 2021

Dance has always been an integral part of my life. I started dancing when I was three years old. Since then, my legs have never stopped stepping. I have learned quite a few dance forms over the years. I gained a lot of knowledge about each dance form. One of the dance forms that inspired me the most is Waacking (Whacking).

Waacking is a form of street dance characterized by arm movements, posing, and footwork. This dance form emphasizes musicality and expressive performances. It was originated in LGBT clubs of the 1970s in Los Angeles. Back in the 1970s, there were a lot of social stigmas around the country. It was not okay to be gay; it was not okay to be black; it was not okay to be a queer person. Men and Women of this kind had to limit themselves, hide from society. All these people, especially gay men, found freedom in the clubs where they expressed themselves through movements. They used to release the stress of being abused and the challenges they faced in daily life. Originally called “Punking”, waacking became a dance form that represented freedom and strength. The queer community used this derogatory term as a positive verb that gave them confidence and power. Gradually, they revealed themselves to the world and learned to fight for their rights.

Waacking changed my perspective of life too. When I started to learn this dance form, about its history, I was inspired. I saw people from different communities dance to this form, perform in battles, make creative choreographies; I saw them tell stories. I saw how strong they became when they danced. I gradually built my confidence through dance itself. I learned to love myself and accept the way I am. At this moment, I am not perfect, but I have definitely reached a point better than I was before, and dance has played an important role in it.

--

--