Reflection 2 — Global Citizen Concert’2021

Nayan Mahajan
DesignThinkingfall
Published in
3 min readOct 27, 2021

I’m not a musician, and I can’t sing for my life. However, music has been present in various stages of my life over the previous decade, and I have developed a personal relationship with it. Music is a language that I use to express my feelings. My friend and I were spending a typical day at university when we learned about the Global Citizen concert, but we didn’t give it much thought. After a few days, I looked it up and couldn’t contain my excitement. Since 2012, Global Citizen has held festivals in Central Park as part of its aim to “defeat poverty and defend the planet,” and this year’s Artist lineup was a dream come true for me. My friend and I initially had trouble getting tickets and we didn’t think it would happen, but somehow we managed to get the tickets a night ahead of time and I had no idea of what an incredible experience I was about to have.

The reason I’m writing about the Global Citizen Concert as an artist’s experience is the surreal level of adrenaline I had that night, and I had to convince myself that this was, in fact, happening in real life. My thoughts during the concert were a reflection of all the times I had heard their songs in my room or with my friends, and how far I had come with my knowledge of their music as my favorite singers performed in front of me. There were 70,000 people in Central Park that night, all in the same arena, and there was a sense of togetherness because of mutual respect for one another’s space; nobody wanted to disrupt each other’s experience. It was just a herd of strangers brought together by music and a common goal. The synergy of Artists hailing from diverse genres performing together as one was truly a breathtaking experience. Everyone was yelling at the top of their lungs, and I could see them exhilarated in the same way that I was. Shawn Mendes and Coldplay, two of my favorite musicians, transformed my demeanor and brought tears to my eyes as their music has provided healing, encouragement, and inspiration in my life.

I’m sure it takes a lot of time, work, and imagination to turn music into a visual experience. Throughout the concert, I observed how the concert’s organizing team worked tirelessly to ensure that everything functioned well. They were like magic workers who knew how to deal with an overly exuberant audience, the artists, and the backstage operations. This made me think that we are all too familiar with over the top moments, the flashy lights and the outstanding performances and unforgettable experiences, but we often forget that it all started with an idea on a piece of blank paper and that there is a team of show designers, producers, creative directors, choreographers, financial and logistical solutions team, and many others behind the scenes that make it happen. They are true designers, who make sure that all of the performer’s and audience’s needs are met in an innovative way.

I can connect this experience with the course as it marks a symbiosis of performing arts with technology as they complement each other in order to deliver an engaging visual experience. I’ve attended a lot of concerts in my life, but this one was life-changing in ways that I can’t put into words. Hearing and feeling the music of my favorite performers in a multitude at Central Park in New York City, creating so many memories, and feeling the flush of excitement was a once-in-a-lifetime experience for me.

--

--