Reflection2: Edge Experience

Meghana Anaparthy
DesignThinkingfall
Published in
2 min readOct 26, 2021

One of the places that mesmerized me in new york is Edge. Edge is the second highest, super-tall sky deck located in manhattan. We can view the city from 100 floors above through a glass door. The glasses are angled where we can lean on them to see the view. I chose to talk about Edge because exploring it was one of the best experiences I had in my lifetime.

My friend and I went there in the evening where I got to see the beautiful sunset and the lights of New York. We played the song “Empire State of mind” when we were on top of the building, sitting on one corner of the area, looking at all the people around us who were thrilled by the view. It was breathtaking. The most famous triangular deck where we can see the roads below us from a glass left me wondering the whole time what would happen if the glass breaks, haha. Scary but beautiful. The underrated part of Edge is what they show inside the building and the elevators. As I entered Edge, I found a ceiling with flickering lights that had the map of manhattan. As I went further, it had the blueprint of building the Hudson yards. The effects of lights inside the room are stunning, something that I have never seen before. I felt like I was in a science fiction movie. The visuals of subways and many similar services that we use in our everyday lives were illustrated uniquely. Hudson yards was built to show how future cities can be smarter and greener. I saw illustrations of Smart soil, growing trees, clean air generation, rainwater harvesting, smart trash, and many more. The experience in the elevator was amazing. While going in the elevator, I saw the visuals of New York City. By the time I realized what was happening, I was at the top floor of the building where the sky-deck observation is located. Through my experience, I would recommend everybody who hasn’t explored Edge to visit at least once. It was worth spending time in this place.

Connection to the class: The visualization of Hudson yards, subways, and other systems that I mentioned above were all designs. Almost every aspect of Edge made me wonder how did the builders design something like this. The uniqueness of the building and its components made it stand out from others. There was a lot to connect with the class as we mostly discuss how to think different and unique, something out of the box

--

--