The Starting Guide to UI Design — 2022 Edition

Nick Lawrence
DesignWalkthroughs™
6 min readJun 7, 2022

--

If you have absolutely no idea where to begin your UI design journey, just start here.

Overview

So you’ve decided to take the leap into UI design? I’m proud of you. Modern UI design is far more complex and challenging than most people think, and learning it can feel like drinking from a fire-hose.

That said, I know for a fact you can do it.

Today, we’re going over where I would recommend that you start, if you have absolutely no idea where to begin in your UI design journey.

→ I’ve tried to make this article as much of a gold-mine for you as possible, all-killer, no filler, but if you feel like I’ve missed anything, let me know in the comments.

A word of advice for all designers

Whether you are a brand new, fresh designer, an aspiring UI/UX designer, or a seasoned design practitioner, the following advice applies universally:

Your level of skill is directly proportionate to how often you study and put what you’ve learned into practice.

I cannot tell you how often I have seen designers just sit on knowledge. Don’t do that. Instead, make sure that you’re practicing…

--

--