Day 23: Ser

Malik Turley
Desire Path
Published in
4 min readSep 13, 2022

--

On our 23rd day in Spain we almost forgot to celebrate our 26th year of marriage because we were too busy with the work of “ser” — the verb “to be” in Español.

Thanks to the pandemic and how our lives have shifted towards home over the past few years, neither Bill nor I are practiced in the art of commuting. We’ve both gotten very used to always being where we need to be without leaving home or, now that we’re in the Hobbit House, the couch. Getting ourselves up and out to the bus stop by 8:30 (and missing our morning visit to Dream) so we could get to Inter Estudios for our first in-person Spanish class was a shock to our systems.

Our small class (there are four of us) worked through some basic vocabulary, did some role playing with introductions, talked through the conjugation of Ser and Tener, and went through the alphabet. While this is all review for Bill and me we appreciate the practice and getting to connect with other learners. Discovering that the other student with Chicago ties (by way of Poland and France) has a pittie was a bonus.

Left: Who we are; Right: Random market? Sure!

We both had full work days but mine starts later than Bill’s, so while he headed back to the Hobbit House I went off to try (unsuccessfully) to recharge our bus cards. While that didn’t work the cafe was open and ready for me, and I even attempted to explain to the waiter why I was solo. The words got garbled but my meaning was understood and I managed to while away about an hour, sipping coffee and working with my Bullet Journal.

I started working earlier than scheduled (it’s not easy to delay the start of the day so that’s still a work in progress) and dove into the pile of admin tasks I needed to do before my teaching day started. I got so absorbed, in fact, that I was almost late to class. When you teach from your living room the commute is much shorter than if you need to zip across town on a tram to get to your friend’s house to teach. Needing to pack up a computer, a tablet, and a yoga mat add to the amount of time needed, in case you weren’t sure.

This commute was brought on by the continuing power issues at the Hobbit House. As lovely as it is to have a friend willing to let me take over her living room to teach my classes (my students were amazed that I a) already had friends here, and b) that one of them was willing to let me use her home — I live a charmed life for sure), not having a commute is lovelier. At this point, and for the next 10 days, adding in that commute is part of what it takes to be in Spain. I got to get off at a new stop, and I got to walk through one of the college campuses, and I got to teach 2 classes and hold 2 meetings without the power so much as flickering. I also, thanks to the commute, got to remember that it was our wedding anniversary.

Left: Have mat, will travel; Right: New class space, thanks to a friend

To be together for 26 years is no small feat. To go through a trans-continental move together is also one for the books. I suppose, all things being equal, that letting the date slip from mind in the midst of all the chaos that surrounds something that big isn’t too terribly surprising.

We managed to salvage the day and squeeze a bit of celebration in before midnight. Bill had gone to the grocery and found a wee bottle (just big enough to hold two glasses) of bubbly and we made a toast to each other over dinner (on the couch). We also padded over to Dream (but they were closing) and ended up at the other cafe/bodega/restaurant, Taberna Jaizkibel Sant Vicent de Paul, on the block for an “out” glass of wine.

While we were walking over Bill made the realization that we’ve been married for half his life. For me it’s been over half my life. We’ve been together for longer (30 years) but this mathematical realization hit home for both of us.

Mi merido, desde hace veintiséis años.

“Ser” is used for permanent states of being vs Estar for more temporary things. I reject the idea of “estamos casados.” Somos casados, desde veintiséis años.

--

--

Malik Turley
Desire Path

I love exploring the creative process, whatever the medium, and digging deep to untangle how to get better at whatever I’m working on at the moment.