5 tips for mothers working from home during Covid-19

Nidhi Mahana
Deskera Engineering
3 min readMay 13, 2020
Photo by The Coherent Team on Unsplash

I always hated the idea of working from home. The reason is I have two beautiful daughters who need their mother for almost everything. It is so difficult to concentrate on work when you have a toddler at home. I think most of the mothers with young kids will agree with me. Finally, I was forced to work from home due to the Covid-19 outbreak, and it changed my perception of working from home. Suddenly I realized that I was more productive, and I also learned so many new things about my kids. I think this work from home experience has made me a better mother and more productive employee. Here I have shared some tips which helped me to create a productive working environment at home.

Create a separate work area

I love my kids, but I was so frustrated during the initial few weeks due to constant questions and distractions. I created a separate work area for myself in my bedroom, and it helped. My advice to everyone is to try avoiding sharing space with your partner or kids. Maintaining a separate work area will help you in the following ways:

  • It helps you to prevent household distractions.
  • It makes it easier to transition in and out of work mode.
  • It helps you to establish clear boundaries to keep your family from disrupting.
Photo by The Coherent Team on Unsplash

Create a Daily Routine

Maintaining a regular schedule is very important as it helps you to differentiate between work hours and personal time. Try to incorporate your daily office routines even when you are working from home. Try to wake up and sleep at the same time. Plan all your tasks and try to limit all personal distractions while being home.

Invest in the right furniture

As working from home involved a lot of sitting and a lot of online communication, it is essential to set up a comfortable and modern home office. There is no way that you can sit in an office for more than 8 hours on a stool, so please buy comfortable office furniture for yourself and consider this as a long term investment.

Establish clear boundaries to avoid distractions

Establishing clear boundaries is very important to avoid distractions during office hours. If other family members are home, set some ground rules for having people in your workspace during office hours.

Invest in new office equipment

Apart from Covid-19, there is a growing trend towards working from home as businesses spend a considerable amount on renting and maintaining the workspace. Nowadays, companies want to avoid spending in office spaces, and they prefer employees who can work from home. Consider investing in the following pieces of equipment:

  • A larger computer monitor
  • A good laptop with a long-lasting battery
  • A good microphone headset compatible with both smartphone and laptop

About Nidhi:

Nidhi is a part of the product team at Deskera focused on providing amazing solutions for small businesses.

--

--

Nidhi Mahana
Deskera Engineering

Hi! My name is Nidhi. I am a wife, blogger, mom of 2 beautiful girls and Product Manager @ Deskera