Meet the Member: Joy Messinger

Kaitlyn Fitzpatrick
A New Desk
Published in
2 min readJun 4, 2019

Coworking is as much about the co as it is about the working. To inspire you with what’s possible with a Deskpass membership, we want to introduce you to one of our members.

What kind of work do you do?
I’m the Program Officer for a national funder of youth-led gender justice activism and organizing. I make grants to grassroots groups all over the country doing important feminist, racial justice, LGBTQ, immigration, and healing justice work.

What’s something you’re working on right now?
Our fund provides both long-term and rapid response funding. Tomorrow, I’ll be reviewing grant applications for our monthly rapid response fund and helping plan a national gathering for other social justice funders around race, gender, class, and criminalization.

What was your workspace situation like pre-Deskpass?
Before joining Deskpass, I was working at home, coffeeshops, the public library, or friends’ offices.

Why did you choose a Deskpass membership?
I love that Deskpass is flexible enough to let me work all over the city but affordable with a Mini-Pass option since I travel often for my job.

What’s your favorite Deskpass related moment…so far?
I live on Chicago’s Far North side so I love working at Colvin House in Edgewater. It’s a gorgeous building near the beach with lots of fun art, and has been a nice to get that out-of-the-typical-office feel.

Any must-haves while coworking?
I love coworking spaces with a mix of desks, chairs, and couches. Being able to switch it up during the day helps me keep my energy up!

Are you an extrovert or introvert? If so, how do you cowork to suit your personality?
I’m definitely a mix of both, so having the option to work near folks or chat in the kitchen works just as well as being able to throw some headphones on to get through my to do list.

If you could cowork with anyone, who would it be and why?
I’d love to cowork with Rihanna or Janelle Monae. In addition to being great performers, they’re both such savvy and creative businesswomen. (Hard agree!)

In case we forgot to mention…We’re a monthly membership that currently gives you access to these spaces and 250+ in Chicago, NYC, SF, LA, Austin, Denver, Boston, Miami, and D.C.. We think Deskpass is a fantastic way to explore coworking, get you out of your home office or your local cafe and around a bunch of vibrant communities of lovely folks.

Try us out for 30 days to see what it’s all about!

--

--