Zapworks Tutorial 3: Augmented Portal

Sarina Horn
2 min readMay 4, 2019

--

For this tutorial I completed the Augmented Portal tutorial, which transforms a flat image of a room into an interactive 3D space.

What did I learn?

In this tutorial I learned the process of putting together a virtual experience in the studio app. This tutorial walked me through each step from the very first thing of creating a zapcode all the way to the final experience. I learned in what order to layer objects, how to change the positions, and how to link the zapcode at the very end.

What was confusing?

This tutorial was really good at explaining each step and also providing a corresponding video, so every step was very clear. However, at first after I made my zapcode, I was confused on why I didn’t need to place it on the image before importing it to the studio. At the end I found out that the zapcode is linked when publishing and doesn’t need to be on the image while working in the studio. It can be place on the source image at the very end.

What was the outcome?

This was definitely a success, the room becomes a 3D experience just like the tutorial shows at the beginning. The only thing is that it isn’t as smooth as they make it appear, the image gets a little bit glitchy while using it.

--

--