ZapWorks Tutorial Review

Danielle Flinn
2 min readMay 5, 2019

--

Tutorial debrief from using ZapWorks to create AR experiences.

Scan the code above with the Zappar App to take a photo with a lil dragon!

I competed the 3D Photo Feature tutorial listed under the ZapWorks Studio tutorials. This tutorial is categorized as Absolute Beginner, with no prior ZapWorks use necessary. It was a very short and simple process, with clear instructions and videos to help clarify any doubts. It was fun to see how quickly an AR experience could be created.

Instead of using the 3D robot file provided with the tutorial, I found a cute little dragon form cgtrader.com. I downloaded the FBX file after briefly skimming the ZapWorks 3D model requirements. Importing the dragon 3D model was seamless. It was very easy to translate the instructions for importing the ZapBot to import the model I found.

The tutorial helped me understand how to use Symbols and import 3D models into ZapWorks. I wish I would have started with this tutorial before attempting a more complex project such as the ZapWorks Studio Business Card project. This tutorial in comparison seemed a lot simpler, while helping me understand importing assets and the hierarchy structure.

Lil dragon chillin on my kitchen table.

This tutorial was a great success! From here, I’d love to develop the project further and load multiple 3D characters you could select from after scanning the ZapCode.

--

--