Will Power: A biography written too soon?

@shimi_raikkonen
Destination Driven
Published in
2 min readMay 30, 2018

THE SHEER FORCE OF WILL POWER by David Malsher

Last year, I read Will Power’s biography, written by journalist, and Motorsport.com’s IndyCar correspondent, David Malsher. It was a pleasure to read, and a fast read, to boot.

I must admit, however, that I wasn’t all that keen on Power, mainly because he seemed a milquetoast personality, driving for Darth Penske, his apprentice, Darth Cindric, and the Penske Empire (this isn’t true journalism, so I can say things like that).

What I realized, two pages in, was that Malsher is a writer, for a reason; the read was effortless and thoroughly enjoyable. I also realized Power was anything but milquetoast. Learning about Will’s life, why he is the way he is, how Liz and her family factors into the equation of his life, and how he was able to overcome some pretty serious obstacles, to arrive at winning the IndyCar championship, ultmately changed my attitude toward the Aussie.

I took this photo at the Sonoma Test, February 2018

And, watching Power take this year’s Indianapolis 500 was particularly gratifying, due to the insights in this book. I suggest to you, NOW is the perfect time to purchase/read Will Power’s biography. Not many recent Indianapolis 500 and IndyCar champions have biographies/autobiographies, and we’re quite fortunate Power and Malsher have provided this one, years ahead of this historical Indy 500.

--

--