Meet the Team: Dean Whitehouse

Dean Whitehouse
Destructive Digital
3 min readMay 3, 2018

To conclude the Meet the Team series is me, Dean, the Digital Director and Co-founder of Destructive Digital.

Keep an eye out for our growing team over the next few months though!

What does my role involve
The simplest way I could find to describe what I do on a day-to-day basis is that I find digital solutions to a wide range of problems.

Taking in everything there is about the problem, whether this be an internal micro-efficiency or developing a new social network, I then have the challenge of coordinating the team’s ideas into a structured proposal and expertly delivered solution.

Favourite part of my job
Travelling the country, and the world, whilst being fortunate enough to meet some of the most innovative and inspiring entrepreneurs at all stages of their journey.

Not only is it a amazingly diverse experience, hearing the stories of how people got to where they have and what they’re wanting to achieve in the world, but it’s also incredibly inspirational.

Goal for the year professionally
WIth our rapidly growing team, multiple IP launches pending and our expanding technology stack, keeping ahead of it all is essential.

The goal for this year is to ensure we have all the processes in place to keep growing without risking our culture or values and ensure we are empowering everyone in the team to be a part of the company, and not just working for the company.

Favourite food
This is a difficult one but I think I’d have to say a good Chicken Risotto will always win me over, with some Arancini made from leftovers… nothing is better.

Best place i’ve travelled to
I’ve been very fortunate to travel a lot in my lifetime. In the past year alone i’ve been to South Africa, US, Italy, Canada and Norway with scheduled visits this year again to the US, Italy, Thailand, Greece and Canada.

However my favourite place I’ve visited would have to be Cuba 🇨🇺 doing a two week tour of the country (just after the American travel restrictions were removed).

I was fortunate enough to be in Havana as the first American cruise ship arrived. Second to this would have to be the South African Safari I took last year just north of Jo’burg — being an animal lover this was an amazing experience.

A country i’d love to visit
I’ve never been to Asia and would love to visit that side of the world, Vietnam would be high on the list but i think the dream place would be South Korea due to the importance of it in the technology landscape.

Favourite TV series
I’m not a big TV watcher however the show that really excites me, and in some ways inspires me to take action, is John Oliver’s Last Week Tonight — hard to find in the UK but really great work he does on there.

He recently launched a PR campaign for equality against the US Vice President by launching this book… you may have read about it.

One thing on my bucket list
Being a big gamer I’ve always wanted to visit E3 conference in America, not very exciting to most but for me this would be one of those things I can tick off. Something bit more usual would be to spend a year travelling around the world with my partner.

Random fact about me
I’m a gold medalist in Kyokushin Karate from a team fighting tournament… although this was a long time ago, over a decade. I also thoroughly enjoy irritating my neighbours with my poor attempts at playing guitar!

Let’s start a conversation.
Email me at dean@destructive.digital or introduce yourself on LinkedIn

Learn more about the team at Destructive Digital in our Meet the Team articles.

--

--