Meet the Team: James Barnes

James Barnes
Destructive Digital
2 min readApr 19, 2018

Time to take another peek behind the veil and see the team behind the expertise.

To continue the introductions is me, James, the Director of Consulting at Destructive Digital.

What does my role involve
I predict the future 🔮…well, sort of. I am a forecaster. I use data and trend analysis to forecast all operational aspects of a business. I help clients with challenges such as reducing operational cost, increasing sales, improving the customer experience, calculating the ROI (return on investment) and deciding on a successful business model. My role is to relate data and business plans to reality.

Favourite part of my job
Over the years I’ve been fortunate to work in Europe, Asia, Middle East, Africa, Australasia and America, across so many business sectors. I love meeting people and truly believe the human race is good at heart.

Goal for the year professionally
I relish the challenge of transforming a startup idea; taking a business plan that does not commercially add up, reengineering the business model, producing a new MVP and plan, and ideally leading to a great commercial success! This year my goal is to transform at least three start-ups.

Favourite food
A Biryani. It has to be home cooked, in a sealed pot, in Bangalore…with a whole lotta’ love.

Best place i’ve travelled to
Tough question, love places that are different to my home in the UK. I suspect after a great Biryani, you can’t beat watching RCB win at 2020, although after a cheeky crabcake hotdog watching the Baltimore Orioles win is a close second.

A country i’d love to visit
Japan 🇯🇵 I loved Hong Kong and China and wish to continue exploring Asia.

Favourite TV series
Rumpole Of The Bailey. I love his cheekiness, quick wit and passion for the golden thread of justice. And yes I like a glass of Chateau Thames Embankment too!

One thing on my bucket list
I’m more into sitting down adventures, so maybe a Japanese izakaya, and onsen and bullet train…(but not at the same time though).

Random fact about me
I have trouble with colours, my red and green is swapped. Yes, I see grass and Kermit the frog as your colour red. But maybe I am normal and you’re not.

Let’s start a conversation.
Email me at james@destructive.digital or introduce yourself on LinkedIn

Learn more about the team at Destructive Digital in our Meet the Team articles.

--

--