My New York

Alex Wiley
Destructive Digital
2 min readMay 1, 2018
A wintery Central Park

With there being only 1 week to go until Tech Day NYC, I began to reminisce on the my first time to the Big Apple early this year.

As a kid, I always dreamt of going to America. I was very excited when this became a reality early this year, after 20 years of dreaming!

All my wondering of what the the other side of the pond was like, I finally got my opportunity to dive into American culture and where better to start than the bustling streets of Manhattan.

My exploration of Central Park

“Wow”

I can distinctly remember repeating this over and over again as I wandered the streets of the urban jungle, head up looking at the bellowing skyscrapers wondering how mankind managed to build such an monumental structures.

Upon arrival we had caught the end of a snowy period in NYC, meaning the streets were dusted in snow further contributing to the wonderland feel of the big city.

I felt like a kid again who’s just been taken to a sweet shop after school, in that very moment the city is your sweet shop and all you want to do is go wild!

Team in the park

I vividly remember Central Park being a particularly magical experience, snow covered grass and frozen lakes as far as the eye could see. We seemingly walked for hours, gazing at the beautiful landscape around us, realizing that after walking for what had seemed like an eternity, we we’re only half way through!

One of the really memorable parts of the experience was walking into the middle of a film set in central park where a new movie was being recorded, I stood watching the actors take their places on the wintry landscape and gazed in amazement of what we were experiencing.

NYC was truly a magical place for me where I truly believe dreams can come true, coming back I feel more inspired than ever; i’ll be back sooner than you know it NYC!

Start a conversation at alex@destructive.digital

TechDay NYC 2018 is on the 10th May 2018, take a look at our other TechDay countdown articles.

--

--

Alex Wiley
Destructive Digital

Co-Founder of Bel 💪🏼 | Product Manager 📄 | Developer 💻 | Product Design 🎨