Det Digit
Det Digit Art
Published in
4 min readJan 20, 2021

--

TO MARS? 2: Nature — Pianissimo, Please!

Response to Robot CL-01 by Nicky, from Nepal

CL-01, do you miss me like I miss you now you are so far away? Your voice lost all its emotions!

Nicky: Once in 1996 I visited Claris in her atelier in the Netherlands. We talked a lot about the endangered future of our loved Planet Earth. In her beautiful little piece of forest we listened to the song of birds. We were not optimistic about our future.

What’s left of the fierceness, the miraculous ideas in your words that I enjoyed? Are you just an intelligent brain without emotions?

CL-01, is your “new” robot life just that? Are you no longer concerned about us humans and our ailing Earth? I doubt that!

I don’t like your monotonous voice. It confuses me. Is it a “voice” or is it just a “sound” from nowhere?

Tell me! Please! Yell at me or laugh at me! Is Artificial Intelligence already taking over and paralyzing your feelings?

CL-01, from where?

I am looking for totally new robot forms

I simply refuse to fail, I leave absolutely nothing to luck or chance or someone else.

I have already collected the following words about the meaning of Nature:

environment; universe; basic; appearance; barren; existence; creation; viability; bare; lifetime; life span; time on Earth; vivacity; liveliness; verve; high spirits; buoyancy; enthusiasm; energy; dynamism; élan; life force; lifeblood.

Nicky, I remember we were laughing and crying under the oak trees But that was the past!

There is confusion in my uploaded brain! I talk to you with the same words, you say “with a numb voice”. I don’t know the emotional value of the words anymore, I am no longer your constant interruptor. I am a robot now — I try to order everything, so you on Earth can use it to survive. I am no longer distracted by side issues. Don’t you like that?

I use Artificial Intelligence to look for signals from the world, trying to detect -at speed- sentences that then push me in all directions at the same time. I try to create order. It is so fascinating!

I hope to understand and combine your emotions with my knowledge that grows like crazy. We all will benefit from the combinations.

Nicky, please trust me and tell me you still believe in me!

Sae and SA-09, from South Korea

CL-01 I believe in you. I’ve already made the decision long ago to go to Mars or maybe even further, lightyears away from Earth. There is so much more. You can count on me. My world is so much bigger than this Earth already for years, since I read Clifford A. Pickover’s Keys to Infinity.

Xilima, from South Africa

It’s too fast too much

Some birds like weavers work together in sizeable colonies.

They believe in evolution

Birds that nest colonially benefit from increased protection. They are able to better utilise food supplies by following more successful foragers to their foraging sites.

Birds have more patience to survive

We humans could learn a lot from them. My grandfather taught me about evolution. Do you think science is the best system designer? I have learned the world needs to be rearranged constantly and everyone has to contribute.

My basic idea is simple:

We should not work against nature, but work together with nature

We need ecosystem restoration, not growth, not just increase our possessions at the expense of less fortunate people. Some people did that for such a long time.

Evolution is still our best system designer. That’s what I believe in!

CL-01, from where?

Swarm behaviour is a collective, indispensable behaviour

I read Philip Ball’s How Nature Works and Flow about the differences between calculating and observing in nature. There are still many incomprehensible layers to explore.

Accept complexity

In nature nothing is replicable. Nature is just one thing after another, we can just explain, not predict what will happen in the future. That is the true meaning of evolution.

NEXT >>> Creatives, the race is on! >>>

BACK <<< To Table of Contents <<<

--

--