A LATE SUMMER TRIP TO THE LAKE HELPED REPAIR & STRENGHTEN LONG-FRAYED BONDS WITH MY FATHER

Summer by the lake: My Father’s Daughter

A L B E R T I☆R O M A N I
A Desabafo
7 min readAug 25, 2020

--

In addition to the same last name, my Dad and I share the same clusters of concentrated melaninized cells (freckles) under the eyes and across the bridge of the nose, an unbounded love of nature and simplicity of speech…Yes, I may be too old for piggy-back rides and bedtime stories, but I’m still my father’s daughter…

Summer by the lake: My Father’s Daughter
Lesser Slave Lake, Central Alberta Canada

Background

This story was originally meant as a biographical blog post by Emma Eva Harvey. During our initial brainstorm session I suggested turning it into a work of fiction; as that medium would give her the creative freedom she needed to bring a wonderful and universal story to life.

As a proof of concept, I took her notes and story outline; along with the ideas we’ve batted back and forth over the previous week and crafted this story, Summer by the lake: My Father’s Daughter.

Wanting to write only biographical stories to faithfully document this period of her life, Emma Eva Harvey decided to pass on the completed story and gave her consent for it to be published under my name alone.

After much convincing on my part, Emma Eva Harvey has agreed to be credited as co-author of…

--

--

A L B E R T I☆R O M A N I
A Desabafo

Software Eng. ML/AL Researcher. Composer. Hyper Polyglot. Content Creator. NW AB