Announcing Senior.dev

Alexey Inkin
Dev Publicity
Published in
3 min readDec 31, 2022

As we reflect on the passing year of 2022, we can make use of some tools. Today I have launched a service named Senior.dev to track your progress on GitHub. It shows some statistics that is not readily available on GitHub directly. You can check out my profile or create yours for free.

Committed lines per month per each language

It shows only added and changed lines but not deleted ones, so you can better isolate functional changes from clean-ups. It also tries to exclude auto-generated files, but for now it is naive by design: it counts out files with .g. and .mocks. in names, package-lock.json and some others known-to-be auto-generated. It recognizes about 10 languages by file extensions now.

Highest-starred repsitories contributed to

This you can send to a prospect employer before a job interview.

Recent commits to all public repositories

Sharing your link

When you sign in, the URL changes to have your GitHub username. Just copy it and send to your friends.

Roadmap

I plan adding code analysis features for better insights of particular technologies used. Stay tuned.

There was a burst of GitHub analyzers built upon GitHub Archive back in ~2015. It is still a useful database, but it has grown significantly, and any meaningful analytics with it now costs hundreds of dollars charged by BigQuery, so those old-days analyzers fell out of spotlight. We will step in.

Sign up to get insights first:

  • Follow me here on Medium.
  • Follow me on Twitter.
  • Join the Telegram chat for support on all my products, this I would love you to do the most. This is also the best way to tell me what data and links you need.

Most importantly, if anything fails for you, text me so in a few days I can get back to you and say “Please retry now”. This project means a lot to me.

Known issues

We have tons of them:

  • Fetching commits for large repositories sometimes breaks.
  • Page refresh is often required as the sync goes on.
  • Even tabs may sometimes freeze as we use our experimental component for them, and discovered this only today.

We were in a hurry to s̶h̶o̶w̶ ̶t̶h̶a̶t̶ ̶R̶u̶s̶s̶i̶a̶n̶s̶ ̶c̶a̶n̶ ̶l̶a̶u̶n̶c̶h̶ ̶n̶o̶t̶ ̶o̶n̶l̶y̶ ̶m̶i̶s̶s̶i̶l̶e̶s̶ ̶i̶n̶ ̶2̶0̶2̶2̶… h̶a̶v̶e̶ ̶2̶0̶2̶2̶ ̶r̶a̶t̶h̶e̶r̶ ̶2̶0̶2̶3̶ ̶o̶n̶ ̶W̶i̶k̶i̶p̶e̶d̶i̶a̶ ̶l̶a̶t̶e̶r̶ ̶o̶n̶… cheer you up with this New Year reflection tool.

We will fix those bugs soon, thank you for loving us more than they distract you.

The team

I do high-level architecture and code reviews so this project does not distract me from my primary job at Akvelon.

Ilya Morozov does more coding.

We wish you a Merry Christmas and Happy new year! May there be peace.

--

--

Alexey Inkin
Dev Publicity

Google Developer Expert in Flutter. PHP, SQL, TS, Java, C++, professionally since 2003. Open for consulting & dev with my team. Telegram channel: @ainkin_com