DevCareer: My World Class Developer Roadmap

Sunday O. Olomitutu
devcareers
Published in
4 min readAug 21, 2019
When the interview they enter body

DevCareer : a platform that provides solutions for those who are just starting their career in tech. It was an idea of one of the Nigerian Developers known on twitter Name Cannot Be Blank who started a campaign of #laptops4developers to support 10 beginner developers on twitter and then been getting support from #techtwitter and #BlackTechTwitter community.

DevCareer Homepage

Straight to my own story, I have been on self-teaching web development but lack of laptop, internet access, and stable power supply have been slowing me down. Fast forward to one faithful day I was strolling on the street of twitter, then waka pass Sultan veranda when I saw a tweet about him want to raise supporting fund for 10 developers who have passion for tech but can’t afford the stuff that can get them going. I dmed him and he said I should wait till application form will be out. I change my focus to #Laptops4Developers twitter page with notification on.

After the first stage of registration on DevCareer website, I created my personal page here then applied for the program. First IQ test was sent out and I took mine and hoped for the best which granted me an entry into the second stage. The second stage test was kind of technical but its the fundamental of software development.

Fast forward to when the invitation for a physical interview was sent, I was nervous that very day but the cool techy people on the table was kind enough to make me feel among. Honestly, that was my first tech interview and I’m not even sure of what I will be asked but thank God, I’m one of the selected candidates for this wonderful opportunity to start a career in Tech and guess what I was provided with? A good laptop, Courses that will get me to a professional level, and yes mentorship, Oh did I mention a nice environment where I have access to fast internet and stable power supply. Thanks to Co-Creation Hub for their supports.

First Week Experience

My first week at DevCareer was an introduction and on-boarding into DevC Fellowship. Then, I was introduced to some useful Tech Tools ranging from Slack, Medium, GitHub and Git which I used to create my very first pull request and merge,then straight outta to use of VSCode and then I was able to build FCC Tribute Page Check Here. It feels so amazing that I had to recreate this to build my very own Personal Page.

The same week I have my Pluralsight partnership code given to me which led me to Skill IQ Test and access to massive courses you can ever think of in the world of software development. All thanks to Pluralsight team for their support.

Skill IQs obtained from Pluralsight

My Aim

Firstly, is to be on a scale of 5 to 7 of 10 with my mentors in web development skills, problem-solving skills, and creativity in web development and performances within the this three month DevCareer program.

Secondly, to land my first developer job which will enable me to give back to the community irrespective of how big or little my contribution to the growth of young developers in Nigeria, Africa and the world at Large will be.

I want to use the privilege to say a very big Thank You to everyone who has supported and still supporting DevCareer campaign to raise world class of software developers in Nigeria and Africa at Large. To #BlackTechTwitter community thanks for the love and passion for the community and to #TechTwitter Community on behalf of everyone who has been accepted into the program we say THANK YOU SO MUCH. I will keep calling you the Chief of #Laptops4Developers Sultan, thanks for this wonderful platform. More Grace to do more.

You want to know more about DevCareer click here

You want to check it on Planet Twitter #Laptops4Developers

The Wheel behind the campaign Akintunde Sultan

About me?

You can find me on twitter Mideveloper

I stay here too on medium Olomitutu Olufemi

What I have to say?

A new day, another opportunity to be world class. — Prosper Otemuyiwa

--

--

Sunday O. Olomitutu
devcareers

Tech ⚡️| Web3 🚀 | Senior Frontend Developer | ReactJS+Next.js+Flutter+Typescript | Isaiah 58:11 | ❤️&💡