Here’s to Damilola Kaffo, Our community hero for August

Victoria Aladesuyi
devcareers
Published in
3 min readSep 2, 2024

“One of my most memorable moments was teaching my first technical writing class within the community…”- Damilola Kaffo

Today, we’re celebrating Damilola Kaffo, our Guest Tutor and Mentor at the Technical Writing channel, as our inspiring star for the month of August.
Damilola’s story is about passion, determination, and a relentless pursuit of knowledge.

As a recent graduate of Yaba Tech with a Higher National Diploma in Estate Management, Damilola had a vision that extended far beyond the confines of the four walls of the classroom. During his time at Yaba Tech, he served as the president of his department, a role that tested his leadership skills and shaped him into the community-driven individual he is today.

According to him, his journey into the tech space wasn’t accidental. It was a deliberate choice, fuelled by a desire to be part of a community that nurtured growth and development.
We had the pleasure of hearing Damiloa discuss his journey and the community’s impact. Here’s a glimpse of our conversation:

  • Please tell us a bit about yourself and your background.

I am a recent graduate of Yaba College of Technology, where I completed my Higher National Diploma (HND) in Estate Management. I am pursuing a second degree in Data Science to broaden my technical skills and expertise.

During my time at Yaba Tech, I had the privilege of serving as the president of my department, which provided me with valuable leadership experience. In addition to my academic pursuits, I am a passionate football fan and enjoy speaking to large audiences, as well as giving back to the community through various initiatives.

  • What are you currently working on or passionate about outside of the community?

I am working towards becoming a Chartered Estate Surveyor and Valuer while improving my technical writing skills. Additionally, I aim to become a certified Data Scientist in the future.

  • What are some of your most significant achievements or milestones within and outside the community?

One of my most significant achievements has been graduating with a Second-Class Upper degree in Estate Management. Additionally, successfully transitioning into data analysis has been a major milestone. I am also proud of my role as a volunteer technical writing tutor on the DevCareer track, where I contribute to the community by helping others develop their skills.

  • Could you highlight a memorable moment or experience you’ve had in the community?

One of my most memorable moments was teaching my first technical writing class within the community. The turnout was impressive. The platform is truly committed to its members, providing valuable job opportunities, coding challenges, learning resources, classes, and seminars that foster growth and development.

  • Is there a specific project or event you’ve been particularly proud of?

Not really

  • What advice would you give to someone new to the community and wanting to get involved?

Be active in the community and be an active contributor.

  • If you could have any superpower, what would it be and why?

Flying. I would be able to save people from danger

  • Is there anyone in the community you’d like to express gratitude or appreciation towards?

Yes, the community manager, Victoria Aladesuyi, for the opportunity she presented to me.

  • Who or what inspires you the most, both within and outside of the community?

My mum and the tech experts in the data community.

  • Is there anything else you’d like to share with the community?

Not at the moment.

Thank you so much Damiloa.

As we honour Damilola’s contributions, we also take a moment to thank him for his dedication and commitment to the community. He reminds us all of the importance of giving back, and the limitless possibilities that come with perseverance and love for learning. Here’s to Damilola — a true community hero.

--

--

Victoria Aladesuyi
devcareers

Your next door StoryTeller, fell in love with Community Building. Now, I'm on my way to discover the world of Product Management. Cheer me on🚀🚀