Interview with a DevCareer Alumnus: Fiyin Akinsiku, a Backend Engineer at Flutterwave.

Ibukunoluwa Samuel
devcareers
Published in
4 min readApr 19, 2022
Fiyin Akinsiku
Fiyin Akinsiku

We had a chat with some of the DevCareer alumni. We caught up on their Pre-DevCareer, Mid-DevCareer, and Post-DevCareer experiences. The interview was delivered via email and it is presented as obtained with only a few edits.

First of all, Introduction.

My name is Fiyin Akinsiku, I was part of DevCareer cohort 2. I currently work as a Backend Engineer at Flutterwave.

Q: How did you hear about DevCareer vis-à-vis #Laptops4Developers?

A: I heard about #Laptops4Developers on Twitter. At the time, I was looking for entry-level opportunities in software development. A friend shared a tweet about an opportunity to participate in the 2020 cohort with me, so I applied.

Q: How was the registration and assessment process? What was your reaction when you got selected?

A: Although I was one of the lucky people selected at the end of the #santaBen giveaway 2019 on Twitter, I still applied when the link came out just to be sure my spot was secure either way. The process went smoothly, at least from what I currently remember. The assessment was easier than I anticipated. It was mostly beginner-level stuff and thankfully, I made it to the interview stage. This stage was the fastest for me. I got to speak with some existing members and they made me feel comfortable enough to answer the questions. A few weeks later, I received a congratulatory mail. I was super excited because this was the first real opportunity I had to break into the tech space.

Q: Have you been around Backend Engineering before you happened on #Laptops4Developers

A: Before the DevCareer program, I had only been self-taught, taking classes on different platforms and trying to build little projects on my own. I also practiced on sites like Rosalind, Code wars, etc. and I tried to attend a few tech events to get a feel of the tech space in Nigeria (outside of Twitter).

Q: During the Bootcamp, how was the hub beneficial to your learning?

The hub was very comfortable to learn and work in. We had good internet and electricity supply. I was also able to make friends with another member of my cohort who was in the same hub.

Q: The learning itself, how were the resources, mentors, were they of any help?

A: I think my mentor played a major role in the learning process. She would give us tasks to complete, topics like Software Application Architecture types and data structures to research. She would also grade and give feedback on the tasks. The project we worked on as a group also helped me learn how to build CRUD applications complete with a database and authentication.

Q: If you were to go over the program, what would you like to change? What can the #Laptops4Developers initiative do differently?

A: It has been a while so I cannot really remember much. But to the best of my current knowledge, it was a good experience and I am forever grateful.

Q: At the end of the 3months, explain your transition experience?

A: After the 3 months, I had about two weeks to relax before I resumed my new job. It was easy because I already worked with the backend team at DevCareer using Agile methodologies, so I had an idea of the basic things to expect.

Q: How many months until you landed a job?

A: Thankfully, I was able to get a job immediately after my cohort ended.

Q: Do you feel supported based on the resources you benefited during the Bootcamp and afterward, would you say the Bootcamp was significant to your growth?

The Bootcamp played a very significant role in my growth as a backend developer. Some of the skills I had when I was starting my first job, both technical and soft skills, were a result of the rigorous training we (the backend group) went through. Thanks to our very efficient mentor at the time.

DevCareer runs a number of programs with the goal of supporting tech talents such as:

  1. #Laptops4Developers: A yearly 3-month long program to support aspiring developers and designers on their journey to become word-class with laptops, courses, and mentorships
  2. A DevCareer community on Slack. Use this link to join over 6000 tech enthusiasts.
  3. A DevCareerXProgate partnership that gives 5000 community members access to pro-plan on Progate to learn any course of choice, exclusive to community members.

--

--