KICKSTARTED MY FRONTEND CAREER AT DEVCAREER

Osunkunle Olanrewaju
devcareers
Published in
2 min readAug 22, 2019

My long term goal to become a frontend developer started last week, 14th August 2019, after receiving a mail from DevCareer — a Non-Profit organization that’s focused on supporting upcoming developers with resources to excel into World Class- to be among the candidate to participate in the #laptop4developers program. The organization provides me with resources(laptop, internet access, workspace, and a mentor.) which have been the major barrier to starting my programming career.

What I’ve been able to achieve in my first week

So far, I have how to communicate on slack effectively in less than a week. Also, I have built my first web page with HTML and styling with CSS. Furthermore, I have been able to make a Push request on Github. You can’t imagine all these are achieved in less than a week.

New Things that I have Started

I have started my learning by taking HTML and CSS courses as it is the foundation of every Frontend developer. I am looking forward to taking courses on javascript and its library (react) after completing courses on HTML and CSS.

It’s obvious that I will definitely be a proficient front end engineer providing solutions to any problem related to frontend development after the three months program.

I will like to appreciate Sultan,the organizer of #laptop4developer program, Hub67 for the space provided for learning, Beye,Olagoke Tobi Enoch, and Chuka Okoye for the time they sacrificed to direct and watch over me and lastly to my teamOyo guys( Akinsoji Hammed Adisa, Temiloluwa Nich Abiodun-Ojo, AYOMIKUN EMMANUEL, Marho Onothoja, Hajarah Olamide, Ajeigbe John, Azeezat Balogun, Mercy Tunde, owojori ernest) see you all at the top.

Follow DevCareers on Social media

Twitter: @dev_careers

Website: https://devcareer.io

Follow Me on Social Media

My Twitter handle: @lario_lee

My IG: @lario_lee

My Github: lario0913

--

--