AYOMIKUN EMMANUEL
devcareers
Published in
2 min readAug 21, 2019

--

MY JOURNEY TO BECOMING A SOFTWARE DEVELOPER

Since I created an interest in web development and change my career, I have decided to make use of any opportunity that will make me a professional in the new career path I choose and my aim is to become one of the best female software developers in Africa.

How it started

On the 14th of August 2019, I started as a DevCareer Trainee. For those that don’t know, DevCareer is a non-profit organization started by Akintunde Sultan and his team with the mission to support budding software developers in Africa with resources (Laptops, Courses, Co-Working space to learn and a mentor) to come into tech for free.

What happened

I started by joining slack which serves as the primary method of communication and discussion, setting up my workspace, creating an account with Trello, Pivotal Tracker, Medium, installing the necessary software needed to execute my tasks and projects.

What I’ve achieved

Within my first week as a trainee, I have been able to use Git and Github effectively (including knowing the necessary git commands) and was able to create a pull request. I was able to create a simple web server, kudos to my mentor Everistus Olumese (http://dev.to/bytenaija) who made it possible and also learned basic javascript.

New things have started

I have started getting myself familiarized with the big picture of node.js using pluralsight courses on their official site www.pluralsight.com as this will help me in my back end projects and to an extent, I can boldly say am not a novice.

I would like to say a huge thank you to Akintunde Sultan for allowing me to be part of this training, Chidi Okoye for always checking up on me, Everistus Olumese for the mentorship and also to our sponsors for making this program possible, I promise to make you proud soon. Also to my teammates (Akinsoji Hammed Adisa, Temiloluwa Nich Abiodun-Ojo, Marho Onothoja, Hajarah Olamide, Ajeigbe John, Azeezat Balogun, Mercy Tunde, Ernest Owojori) and Hub 67 for providing a good workspace and electricity.

Gracias.

Follow DevCareers on Social media

Twitter: @dev_careers

Website: https://devcareer.io

Follow Me on Social Media

My Twitter handle: @hayycreationz

My IG: @hayycreationz

My Github: Endowmissy

--

--