Shining the Light on the Django girl

Victoria Aladesuyi
devcareers
Published in
5 min readFeb 29, 2024

We’re thrilled to announce Praise Idowu as our March Community spotlight.

Praise, popularly known as the tech girl or a Django girl because of her unending love affair with the Django framework, has shown us what commitment truly means.

This month, we’re celebrating her invaluable contributions to our community, specifically her dedication as a guest tutor in the backend development channel — taking some students in the ongoing Python series through February.

Beyond her tutoring contributions, she is also one of the most active members of the DevCareer bookclub. Her insightful discussions, engaging questions, and genuine enthusiasm for literature are contagious.

We are incredibly grateful to Praise Idowu for her continuous contributions and positive impact on our community. Today, we got acquainted with her and learned a few things about her tech journey, state of mind, and how she has grown so far in a quick interview.

  • Please tell us about yourself and your background.

I am a 400-level student in FUTA, Nigeria, and a year-one computer science student at Kibo School of Technology. I started being consistent in coding in February 2022 when there were rumours about the ASUU going on strike. I picked up Python and started learning because I was offering the course at my 200 level, and curiosity drove me to explore it. I had no direction, but I learned it anyway. At that same time, I started sharing my journey on LinkedIn, and I have met so many tech people there, which has now formed a community for me. Being an introvert, I would never have met such several people in real life. But long before then, I learned HTML, CSS, and JavaScript on my phone using an app, and sometimes I did lend my dad’s laptop to code, but I wasn’t consistent. I just loved it, and that was all I saw in it.

I could go on and on because the journey hasn’t been smooth, but I thank God for how far I have come. This month marks two years in coding, and I am grateful.

  • How did you first discover the community, and what made you stick around?

I discovered the community through someone I respect and regard as a mentor.

So, one day, I called him just to catch up since it’s been a while since I heard from him, and that was how he introduced me to Devcareer and shared the Twitter link. It was a Devcareer laptop application. I was so excited, but eventually, I didn’t make it to the interview.

I was inactive in the community until last year, when I decided to start being active and contributing actively to the community. Since then, I decided to stick around because I have been getting and giving value. I have also participated in the Devcareer challenge, won a data stipend, etc.

  • What are you working on or passionate about outside the community?

I am currently working on building 10 full-stack projects this year. That is a big goal, and I have been taking courses to improve my skills to build the projects. I am also working on a series of Data Structures and Algorithms articles. I haven’t been consistent with writing and posting for a week now, but I will try to do better next week now that the distractions are out of the way.

  • What are your biggest dreams for the future, and how does the community support you in pursuing them?

My biggest dream is to give value to people. I want to hold the hands of beginners and mentor them. I wanted to be a reader and the community supported that dream by creating a book club. Let’s talk about the opportunities and resources in the platform. The community has helped me in realizing that dream.

  • What are your most significant achievements or milestones within and outside the community?

My significant achievement so far is staying persistent and consistency. Many voices around me scream “giving up”, but I have kept pushing, believing I can achieve my dreams of graduating with a CS degree, being a Backend Developer, and starting my YouTube channel someday to create content that inspire, motivate, and educate.

  • Could you highlight a memorable moment or experience you’ve had in the community?

I can’t remember any.

  • In your opinion, how has the community positively impacted its members?

The community has created a platform to support its members. It has added hard and soft skills. Also, the weekly rose, bud, and thorn have made its members reflect.

  • What would you like to see more of in the community in the future?

More opportunities like data stipends, job opportunities or internships for entry levels, Hackathons, awards, and any gifts or spotlights to active members when members win a challenge.

  • Is there a specific project or event you’ve been particularly proud of?

There isn’t any project I am proud of yet, and if there was any, I can’t remember.

  • What advice would you give to someone new to the community who wants to get involved?

You can’t do tech alone; you need the people in it. Whatever value you can give, do it. Receive value and jump into an opportunity to help you pursue your dreams. A community is a place to grow.

  • If you could have any superpower, what would it be and why?

Take back the hands of time and do things differently. That superpower would be going back in time, undoing my mistakes, and pursuing my missed opportunities.

  • Is anyone in the community you’d like to express gratitude or appreciation towards?

The Backend development channel Lead, Abiodun Alao (African Dev). He is doing a good job in the community. It’s not easy to lead but he has proven to be a great leader.

  • Who or what inspires you the most, both within and outside the community?

Fulfillment in my career in terms of joy and money. Knowing that what I do motivates people inside and outside the community is fulfilling.

  • Is there anything else you’d like to share with the community?

None!

Thank you so much for your time, Praise. You’re truly our superstar. And we look forward to seeing your continued contributions and celebrating more achievements together.

--

--

Victoria Aladesuyi
devcareers

Your next door StoryTeller, fell in love with Community Building. Now, I'm on my way to discover the world of Product Management. Cheer me on🚀🚀