The Earliest DevCareer Experience

Olubanke Eboda
devcareers
Published in
2 min readAug 21, 2019
The beginning of everything

On the 14th of August 2019, the DevCareer program started, it gave us access to A good Laptop, Amazing courses, A
wonderful mentor and a conducive workspace for learning, my hub, Wennovation hub gave i and my colleagues a warm welcome, a workspace with cozy chairs and free internet access, On that day which was a Wednesday, we were given instructions to download programs which we would be using for lessons on the laptops we were given.

We downloaded and installed mostly setups, and created accounts for programs such as Medium, Trello, Worklogs etcetera which we would be using, we also signed up for online courses.

I was given a Git task to do with taught me how to clone to my local disk and push and pull to the repository in Github. I was given a link in my slack classroom by my mentor to watch an online course on Android Development which is my track, The name of the course was Android Basics: User Interface, which taught me about the basic ways of developing Andriod Applications.

Since the program started I have achieved a lot, which is, realizing what part of Software Engineering I want to specialize in, guidance from a mentor, I have made new friends, I have a workspace away from distractions at home, I have access to paid courses. I started the Udacity Andriod and Pluralsight courses on Friday but I am not done yet but I hope to finish this week.

By the end of the next month, I want to be a good Andriod/IOS developer, that would be confident to look for jobs, I want to gain experience that I wouldn’t have gained anywhere else, I want to be good with either Java or Kotlin.

I give a big thank you to DevCareers for making this possible, @okoyecb, @olagoketobi, @hacksultan, to the mentors, Tobey Daniels, and co. that made themselves available to guide us, to the sponsors that kindly donated and supported us, and to the hubs that gave us their workspaces. Thank you for the free learning access and opportunity you have given us. A shout-out to my colleagues, Idris Olaoye, Sandra Ifeoma, Sam Nnaji, Sijuade Ajagunna, you guys have been amazing.

--

--