Coretta Chibeka Mwanza

Cynthia Mulenga M.
Developer Circle Lusaka
4 min readJan 16, 2019

Coretta Chibeka Mwanza
Impact One Initiative — iSchool Project Coordinator
Bachelor of Arts in Education (UNZA).
Advanced Diploma in Computer Engineering (ABMA UK)

Who is Coretta?

I was born in Kabwe, the home of Broken Hillman, lead and zinc mining and Zambia Railways, the country’s first Railway transport system. I am social introvert who enjoys swimming, yoga, reading, food science, working on DIY projects and traveling. I also enjoy adrenaline-filled adventures and that naturally draws me to places with such activities when I travel. My best experiences to date have been zip lining, kayaking and scaling the Orlando towers at Chaf Pozi in Soweto.

Favorite Music:

Alternative rock, contemporary RnB and electronic house music.

Favorite Life Quote:

“You either sink, swim or be the captain. — Jidenna” I live by this everyday as it reminds me to make a choice for every phase of life that I find myself in and best believe I choose to be the Captain each time.

Favorite Joke:

I like to think I have a unique sense of humor; memes and sarcasm make me laugh.

Favorite OS:

Windows mainly because it has remained functional and user friendly even with all the upgrades over the years.

Favourite App:

I have 5 favorite apps at the moment are Pinterest, Money Manager, Skyscanner, Progate and My Bar .

Favorite Programming Language:

Scratch because of its versatility. I am also currently learning ruby on rails.

Attending the last day of a week long Women in Tech event held by Facebook Developer Circles Lusaka in collaboration with Women in Tech Africa

How did you get into tech?

I do not recall the reason why, but I was in Grade 7 when I knew I wanted to be a Computer Engineer. I was fascinated with how computers worked, and I especially wanted to create video games of my own. From that time since I tailored my studies in order to have a career in tech.

What are your responsibilities in the position you currently hold?

My main responsibility is to introduce different e-learning technologies (both software and hardware) to a number of community schools in Ng’ombe Compound. I work with the teachers of the schools to create tailored implementation plans for their technology programs, as well as train them to use these technologies as effectively as possible to suit their pupils’ learning abilities. I am also the ‘tech gal’ of the organization, solving any IT related issues.

Any particular challenges you have faced in your career as a woman in tech?

Not particularly but the obvious challenge is doubt from male counterparts in my abilities.

How have you overcome these challenges?

I work twice as hard to keep up with latest global tech trends. Knowledge really is power and this skill allows me to be a step ahead.

In your support system, are there men in Tech that support you in your work?

Yes, I have been fortunate enough to have men in my Tech network around to answer my numerous questions and have unknowingly acted as mentors over the years. Notably, Francis Lombe, Mbuyu Makayi, Olivier JM, Daryl, Charles Mwanza and Wilfred Mulenga from BongoHive and Hackers Guild. My grandfather has been a driving force in this tech journey too. He taught me things that girls were by conventional standards not expected to do; like fixing bicycle chains and 101 uses of car grease. From this I learnt that nothing was too big a challenge if I put my mind to it and I apply this to all areas of my life even now.

What are the happiest moments of your endeavors in the tech industry?

Being part of the women led team that created the first Human Rights Mobile App in the country.
Developing a web app for the 2017 NASA Space Apps challenge, which was voted the best local project.
Getting a first-hand experience with the Google eyeglasses.

What word of encouragement would you give young girls considering a career in tech?

Go for it and never feel you are not capable of succeeding because you are female. It will be challenging but with hard work and perseverance, it is a rewarding and empowering career.

Doing what i love during the 2018 Africa Code Week

Awards/Professional Achievements:

Founder and Creative Director — Cocktail Café Zambia
Most Innovative Business Idea Award 2017 — Empreteca Zambia (UNCTAD/ZDA/Barclays Bank Zambia)
YALI Alumni
African Women Entrepreneurship Cooperative Alumni

Community/Volunteer Work:

Volunteer with Asikana Network, Hackers Guild as an ICT trainer and mentor and Natubelenge Children’s Library as a project associate.

Social Media handles:

Facebook: Coretta Ceez Mwanza
Linkedin: Coretta Mwanza

--

--

Cynthia Mulenga M.
Developer Circle Lusaka

Coffee Lover |Tech Enthusiast| Back-end Developer|Mentor : Asikana Network|Facebook Developer Circle:Lusaka Co-Lead