Lontia Nkhuwa

Cynthia Mulenga M.
Developer Circle Lusaka
4 min readFeb 7, 2019

Lontia Nkhuwa

Red dot distribution — IT Sales Executive
Bachelor of Science in Computer Science
CCNA
HP Business Personal Systems Hardware
Microsoft Licensing Ops

Who is Lontia?

I was born in Lusaka but spent most of my childhood in Luangwa District. I love to travel, meditate, thrift, read and listen to relaxing music. I would love to travel Zambia and see every inch of its greatness. Also, I want to travel the world and learn new culture and diverse technologies impacting communities. But most in importantly every step I take I have arrived, and I hope to use my time wisely.

Favorite Music:

I listen to a lot of Gospel Hip-hop, RnB and Musical Theater

Favorite Life Quote:

I have two life quotes that encourage me:

  • Do stuff. Be clenched, curious. Not waiting for inspiration’s shove or society’s kiss on your forehead. Pay attention. It’s all about paying attention. Attention is vitality. It connects you with others. It makes you eager. Stay eager. — Susan Sontag
  • Be yourself; everyone else is already taken. — Oscar Wilde

Favorite Joke:

Q: Is Google male or female?
A: Female, because it doesn’t let you finish a sentence before making a suggestion.

Favorite OS:

In my opinion, iOS has since been the greatest innovation even though it is the second most popular mobile operating system globally. Apple holds a whopping 200 patents for the iPhone alone. It’s like a multitude of functions integrated into a single device. The unique and innovative technology of this device makes it a revolutionary offering by the operating system. It is a clean and well thought innovation.

Favorite App:

Frankly, I have many favorite apps but currently I should say Hooper, Goodreads, Notes, Pinterest and YouTube take up most of my screen time.

Favorite Programming Language:

Python!! And would recommend it to anyone. Python is one of the most popular programming languages nowadays on account of its code readability and simplicity. All thanks to Guido Van Rossum, its creator. There is a poem written by Tim Peters named as THE ZEN OF PYTHON which can be read by just writing import this in the interpreter. The poem gives you great insights on the rules of the language.

Favorite Tech meme or GIF:

How did you get into tech?

Honestly, I did not see myself any other way and from a young age I was always very curious about video games, computers or how certain appliances worked. And I have always loved scientific methods of solving problems as they seemed more practical and analytical. As time went by the only thing I could think of was being in the IT sector.

What are your responsibilities in the position you currently hold?

My current work has exposed me to different regions as I work with different IT resellers from the Southern and Eastern African regions. Initially I was working as a consultant at Red dot distribution, primarily focusing on Microsoft. But now I assist IT resellers with information on different new Hardware and Software products on the market. This goes without saying, Zambia has really improved over the two years on acquiring genuine HP and Microsoft products.

Any particular challenges you have faced in your career as a woman in tech?

It is sad to see both Men and Women look down on females in Tech especially in the corporate world. Most people would trust technical information from a Man in Tech than a Woman in tech, and this is common. It happens to me and I am sure happens to many people globally.

How have you overcome these challenges?

I continue to learn new things and applying myself especially in areas or places my work is appreciated. There’s a piece for everyone in the world.

In your support system, are there men in Tech that support you in your work?

I have met great men in tech and they have impacted my journey in one way or another. Firstly, my classmates who I learned greatly from, they challenged me and we had a good journey. Additionally, members of Agora code community and Bongohive, who have also impacted played a great role in my tech journey.

What are the happiest moments of your endeavors in the tech industry?

Been the only Zambian female in the Microsoft youth program.

What word of encouragement would you give young girls considering a career in tech?

Be authentic especially when you pursue a career in Tech because you will need your WHOLE self to show the world that you can do it. Anywhere you go in the world, both men and women, will judge your competence. But keep learning and striving after all it all starts from somewhere. But do it accepting you are flawed, and you will make mistakes, keep learning anyway. Most importantly learn from the men as well, they will teach you alertness and boldness.

Awards/Professional Achievements:

YALI Alumni

Africa Youth Amani II Fellow

Community/Volunteer Work:

Volunteer at WPI as an Online Coach

Social Media handles:

--

--

Cynthia Mulenga M.
Developer Circle Lusaka

Coffee Lover |Tech Enthusiast| Back-end Developer|Mentor : Asikana Network|Facebook Developer Circle:Lusaka Co-Lead