Naomie Twininge

Cynthia Mulenga M.
Developer Circle Lusaka
4 min readFeb 17, 2020

Naomie Twininge

Personal Assistant to Principal Partner & Front Desk Manager
Jalasi and Linyama Legal Practitioners
Bachelor of Science in Computer Networking
CCNA-Level 1

Who is Naomie?

I was born and bred in Kabwe town in Central Province. I enjoy reading, board games, hidden objects computer games, singing, travelling, thrift shopping, trying out new restaurants and listening to music.

Favorite Music:

I listen Christian Contemporary and Indie music.

Favorite Life Quote:

I go by two life quotes the first being from the bible:
“But Seek first the kingdom of God and the rest shall be added unto you” — Matthew 6:33
“Always believe that something wonderful is about to happen”-unknown

Favorite OS:

I like Android, I haven’t had enough interaction with iOS, Android is user friendly and versatile

Favorite App:

Tricky question but for now I would say Kindle ( yeyi! Lots of books), Goodreads, YouTube, Pinterest and Podcast.app .

Favorite Tech meme or GIF:

How did you get into tech?

I accidentally fell into it hahaha!, No but seriously it did happen like an accident, because what got me curious about computers was a book called PC for dummies. I picked it up one day and read through and well, it got my attention.

I was more curious about the tech world now and I decided to pursue it. My interest was mostly towards the Hardware component of Tech because since childhood I liked pulling things apart (electronics) and doing my own version of experiments, like when I was 10 I wondered what would happen if I
plugged the speaker cables into a power source..oops! I actually found out, turns out the speaker burns because what I saw was smoke.

What are your responsibilities in the position you currently hold?

I am the contact person between Clients and the firm I work for and I manage the Principal Partners diary and provide IT support when asked to.

Any particular challenges you have faced in your career as a woman in tech?

Yes, mainly that people, males and females alike, have very little faith in us women. They tend to be hesitant when we want to carry out a service. And whilst in school I had to push 200 percent to prove my ability and equality to my male classmates.

How have you overcome these challenges?

Over time I have learnt that I do not have to convince anybody about my abilities but that my work will prove for itself. And I never stop to believe in myself, I always remind myself of how far I have come.

In your support system, are there men in Tech that support you in your work?

I have a couple of males who have encouraged me over time. Mainly my instructor from Northrise University Mr Pious Kaira and Mr Robert Simushi of Diligent Consultancy, they played a major role in helping me recognize my strengths. Mr Sikasote from the department of Computer Science at UNZA also continues to encourage me.

What are the happiest moments of your endeavors in the tech industry?

Being a female in Computer Networking, because it involves climbing roofs
sometimes..hahahaha

What word of encouragement would you give young girls considering a career in tech?

Believe that you can achieve anything you set your mind to, every obstacle
makes you stronger. Remember that in this field we have to prove ourselves more and that requires 110 percent commitment. Do not be intimidated by the males in this field, see them as allies. You are well able.

Awards/Professional Achievements:

Academic Excellence for a GPA above 3.0 in 2015 and 2016 at Northrise
University in Ndola

Community/Volunteer Work:

Volunteer in the bookshop at Miracle Life Family Church

Volunteer in membership Department in Set Apart International.

Social Media handles:

--

--

Cynthia Mulenga M.
Developer Circle Lusaka

Coffee Lover |Tech Enthusiast| Back-end Developer|Mentor : Asikana Network|Facebook Developer Circle:Lusaka Co-Lead