Regina Mtonga

Cynthia Mulenga M.
Developer Circle Lusaka
4 min readJan 24, 2019

Regina Mtonga
Asikana Network, Co-founding Director
Computer Science, Information Systems Management
Queens Young Leader awardee, SETAfrica fellow, Royal Commonwealth Society fellow

Who is Regina?

My name is Regina Mtonga. I was born in Lusaka but to be honest I was raised by the red streets of Lubuto Ndola and all my childhood memories are from there with my grandparents. Stopped playing soccer years ago so I do not do much sport really. I now flex my abilities on the keyboard and PS4section only (My cheeks will show this is true).

Hobbies:

My hobbies include video games, baking and quite an unhealthy amount Of DIY on pretty much anything.

My favorite music and travel Destinations:

My favorite music cannot be limited to just one genre or artist because I am a lover of all music but I can say I’m currently feeling Bryson Tiller and Royce 5’9. My travel destinations list is broad but my immediate wants include Egypt and Ghana.

Favorite life quote:

I cannot remember who said it because I have been using it for so long but it is “Live long and conquer”.

Favorite Joke:

I don’t have a favorite joke but anything that starts with a guy walking into a bar should be a riot.

Favorite App:

My current favorite app is still Twitter even though I am taking a break from it.

Favorite OS:

My favorite OS? These are questions for Tech people I suppose but I’m fine with Windows for now. This isn’t Twitter, don’t @ me with why I should be using Linux. Leave me be!

My favorite programming:

language is JavaScript. It is quick and easy and not too complicated to implement.

How I got into Tech:

Had I not gone into Tech I wanted to dive into medicine. However, my dad came home with a laptop one day when I was a teenager back when Windows was not so…colorful…and I was sold! My first brush with programming was with a game called RACE where I had to learn how to program by directing the system to the path where the game was stored. Dad taught me that.

Responsibilities in current position:

My current position is Co-founding Director at Asikana Network. Officially. However our admins persons person would agree i do everything else from conducting some of our classes, to partnerships. But primarily I am a programmer and I try to focus more on teaching and performing that within the organization as lead developer.

Challenges I face as a woman in Tech:

- Being judged on the quality of my work based on my being a woman

- Not having a support system from as many women as I would like.

- Lack of access to funding to get some of my tech ideas off the ground.

How have you overcome these challenges?

These are ongoing challenges and frankly they pop up every now and again but I try to find alternatives To being judged based on gender by actually working to the best of my abilities. Also, creating ways to raise funds by offering my services in order to push my tech ideas is very helpful.

In your support system, are there men in Tech that support you in your work?

Yes of-course! Everyday. This is quite vital in my humble opinion. We are not fighting the men, we are simply trying to prove we too are just as good, better even.

What are the happiest moments of your endeavors in the tech industry?

Without a doubt the moments we have been able to make positive impact in young girls’ lives has been great. But top 3 has to be the look on the faces of the girls we select for Taungana. Seeing that spark of light come alight in their eyes when they realize women CAN drive heavy trucks and work in nuclear plants too. It’s priceless.

What word of encouragement would you give young girls considering a career in tech?

Just give it a shot, what do you have to lose? And the look on a boy’s face when they realize you too can do it is worth it.

Key people who influenced me:

Many say this and I am no different but my parents played a major part in molding the current me. Watching them work so hard to get every form of education they possibly could, secure futures for their children, watching my mother be a minority in her STEM career as well was all the affirmation I needed to keep me firm on this path. Dad had every certification and paper I could think of from Diplomas In Farming construction to Graphic design. Mum was the first registered female Quantity Surveyor in public service in the country. I once heard someone say Engineers give birth to Engineers and here I am.

Social media usernames (facebook, twitter, linkedin):

LinkedIn: Regina Mtonga

https://twitter.com/BabesWonzuna

--

--

Cynthia Mulenga M.
Developer Circle Lusaka

Coffee Lover |Tech Enthusiast| Back-end Developer|Mentor : Asikana Network|Facebook Developer Circle:Lusaka Co-Lead