Sithembile Ncube

Cynthia Mulenga M.
Developer Circle Lusaka
5 min readMay 20, 2019

Sithembile Ncube

Co-Founder and Director at Ubongo Game Lab
Currently a BSc Computer Science and Mathematics student

Who is Sithe?

I was born in Luanshya (which for the longest time I thought was in Eastern Province) but I was raised in Lusaka practically my whole life. I used to play volleyball in high school. This year I bought a bike and I’m hoping cycling can become a new hobby. become a new hobby. I love playing games. Video games, board games and puzzles. When I’m not studying, working or watching something, I’ll be playing stuff. That’s about as active as I get.

Favorite Music:

I mostly listen to Neo-Soul and Funk. I love love love Janelle Monae to the stars and back. Deezer recently recommended Lizzo to me and I think this is the best algorithmic recommendation I’ve ever gotten. I’m in love with all her music and videos.

Travel Destination:

As for travel destinations, I’m in love with Accra, Ghana. Met some great people from there, I like warm weather, and I just feel comfortable there.

Favorite Life Quote:

“Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.” — Theodore Roosevelt. Repeated mantra I learned from Bongohive.

And “Sucking” at something is the first step to being sorta good at something” — Jake from Adventure Time

Favorite Joke:

The fact that a lot of people in Zambia don’t pay artists and
graphics designers fairly or at all for their work. Seriously too many people
underestimate the importance of good design and what it can do to your
userbase and how it makes people’s lives easier and more pleasant. We have
talented and trained local designers. Pay them and encourage people to take
design seriously and in turn encourage the standard to rise. Don’t take
shortcuts. Or else our country will be filled with giant chickens and disfigured
lions. </rant>

Favorite OS:

Android

Favorite App at this moment:

Twitter

Favorite Programming Language:

Python though I’m out of practice

How did you get into tech?

We weren’t allowed to play outside much growing up so we stayed inside playing computer games. My parents also got us a lot of educational games and science games, so a computer was everything for us and naturally became a part of our lives. I’ve always been doing stuff on a computer and loved Computer Studies in high school. I didn’t ever consider something like
Computer Science as a career option for a while because I was continuously
encouraged to do engineering but now that I’m studying Computer Science I find it funny how I didn’t gravitate to it as a career path earlier in life.

What are your responsibilities in the position you currently hold?

Everything (Ubongo Game Lab) and I’m also a developer for a couple of projects within our Computing Sciences department.

Any particular challenges you have faced in your career as a woman in tech?

A few mostly related to the environment. Particularly when going into places where you can tell they haven’t worked with women as team members and it’s really obvious. But also a lack of confidence and always feeling like I’m not doing the right thing when I was starting out was a challenge I had to work by myself.

How have you overcome these challenges?

There are a lot of resources around for women in tech to take advantage of. Working with other women always helps and speaking up not just for yourself but for each other. I think the best way to overcome these challenges is to work together and take advantage of the resources that are available to help women in tech and create spaces to uplift and empower ourselves.

In your support system, are there men in Tech that support you in your work?

Yes. The first job I got was in a tech organization led by men and they have been supportive of me and gave me the space to explore technology and express my ideas.

Did you have any key mentors or people who deeply influenced who you are, what you believe in and what you’re committed to in your work and life?

Mum. I can say a lot about her, but her determination and hard work is something I think about almost every day and it makes me excited to see what I can accomplish following her example.

What are the happiest moments of your endeavors in the tech industry?

Meeting and getting involved with the South African game development scene. AMAZE Johannesburg 2017 was my favorite event on the continent. Seeing experimental games and technology in Africa and the potential for creative media and technology on the continent was so refreshing. We usually think of technology from a business perspective. Seeing technology used for creative expression and the room there is for African culture and stories to be represented with playful and interactive media was my favorite experience.

What word of encouragement would you give young girls considering a career in tech?

Don’t sell yourself short. And this might sound corny but don’t give up. Being a good coder means you have to get used to making mistakes. I felt really inadequate at first but when I got talking to more programmers and seeing them work I realized that everyone is continuously learning by making mistakes and no one always knows what they’re doing. Be open to learn every moment of your journey.

Awards/Professional Achievements:

Moremi MILEAD Fellow 2017 cohort
Miss.Africa Seed Fund Runner up and Miss.Africa Digital Program Ambassador

Community/Volunteer Work:

Regional Organizer for Sub-Saharan Africa at Global Game Jam, Facilitator of various workshops with Asikana Network, Facilitator of various workshops for YAWIC (Young African Women In Computing).

Social Media handles:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/viva.la.vendetta

--

--

Cynthia Mulenga M.
Developer Circle Lusaka

Coffee Lover |Tech Enthusiast| Back-end Developer|Mentor : Asikana Network|Facebook Developer Circle:Lusaka Co-Lead