Women @DevC Fireside Chat with Mwansa Mwansa

Pendo Manjele
Developer Circle Lusaka
3 min readMar 2, 2022

Tell us your story as a woman in technology

Statistics show there is a significant imbalance in the ratio of men to women in technology. This imbalance is due to social factors such as the natural inclination of women towards people-centric careers and their male counterparts’ towards technology. -Gender Gap in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM)-

As a woman in technology, the environment has become more favorable with better opportunities available, but requires that you get up, put your best foot forward, and grab the bull by the horns. Like any other career path, hard and smart work is required to be outstanding.

Also, there is a constant struggle of feeling like an imposter. Having the right people to talk to and draw guidance from is one way I have dealt with this feeling. Aside from internal fights about whether I possess the skills to carry out the task(s) despite knowing what to do, there are expectations from family, and friends alike. Consequently, one has to suffer, sometimes to a great extent, either family and friends or the career, as each demands time and attention.

How did you get into tech?

The story of how I got into tech is quite amusing….

When I enrolled at Copperbelt University, my goal was to study Civil Engineering or Architecture. I fell in love with construction while watching a series of construction documentaries on discovery during my gap year. Unfortunately for me at that time, I was not selected in either program, which led to me reassessing my options and I decided to pivot towards Computer Engineering.

I grew up intrigued by technology and thought of computers or anything to do with tech as magical. However, I never dreamed of going to University and pursuing a career in technology.

What Are your tech super powers?

I am not sure if I have any tech superpowers.

However, I do have the ability to understand and grasp concepts quickly.

What are you learning right now?

I am currently advancing my software development skills in full-stack development in the Hacker’s Residence program by Doublegdp and Nkwashi under Dufuna Code Camp.

In addition, I am exploring digital marketing by self-studying and working on creating a side hustle out of my love for writing.

What has been an unexpected challenge along the way?

My unexpected challenge so far has been finding a Balance between Career and Family or friends.

Both require time, and I haven’t yet discovered how to serve both masters without one suffering in the process.

What do you want other women and girls to know about being in tech?

You have to learn to be comfortable and confident being yourself, trust your abilities, be open-minded, be willing to learn, and apply yourself diligently to the learning process. Most importantly, develop an ability to take criticism because most lessons lie there.

How has the Meta Developer Circle impacted you?

The Meta Developer Circle has given me access to learning opportunities.

The Community has also provided a rich platform to network with like-minded individuals, who I can readily reach out to seek technical or professional help and learn from individual stories on how to navigate the tech industry.

What’s the best career advice you’ve ever received??

‘Never sell yourself short!’.

This applies to every other thing I endeavor to do.

Fun fact about you

I’m very sporty. I love playing soccer, I am always ready for the ball.

gif source: pinterest

Thank you for reading Mwansa’s Story!

You can connect with Mwansa on the following platforms…

  1. LinkedIn
  2. Github
  3. Facebook
  4. Twitter

--

--

Pendo Manjele
Developer Circle Lusaka

Doing Data Science & passionate about helping people get into Data Science.