To change tomorrow, we should learn today!

Soroshshiwa
Google Developer Student Clubs
5 min readDec 14, 2020

It was 6 o’clock and everything was ready for tomorrow’s program. Abu Rayhan Rajabi, a core team member, had made ready all posters for uploading on Social Media. Everyone seemed cheerful about holding such an amazing event. All of my team members were impatiently waiting for that when it would become morning to start the program.

I used to count the time: it is 7 PM, 8 PM, 9 PM, 10 PM…. and finally, it became 4 AM, yes at that moment we were ready to go for executing a program that would start at 8 AM.

Suddenly, I received a call from my cousin, who crying told me: I lost my sister. That time I shocked and gushed tears from my eyes. She was like my own sister, we had grown together. and it was so hard to decide what I should do right now? I had two options: going to her grave to fulfill her last right, indeed throwing soil on her grave, or executing the program! Because there were only two hours left to the program and we didn’t have the opportunity to cancel it and also the high desire of students and their positive comments in our posts, expressing so much interest made me just pray for the spirit of my cousin and go to university, because that subject was very important for me and with the interest that the students had which came from far away, I couldn’t make them disappointed.

When I got to university it was more than I thought! Students were lined up two hours before entering the computer lab, teachers and I with faculties’ heads with everyone by high interest were waiting for the program. I saw the light in the eyes of every single student, all of whom were eager for the program and knew they were going to learn something new today.

I started the program and after Mr. Jawid Mowahed, who introduced the program, our first speaker, Dr. Yama Ramin, one of our experienced teachers, started giving a speech and everyone was fascinated by his words. We still remember every single word of this great teacher, and we still remember the speech and all his information about Android and Kotlin Programming Language.

The next speaker was a legend! Abdulrahman Popal, who is one of the top students in the Faculty of Computer Science and has made several great applications, continued the program by building the first project in Kotlin. My attention, my colleagues, and all the participants were only on Popal. Sometimes his coding art overwhelmed us and sometimes his expression. The program went on like this, and everyone learned the topics, learned the code labs properly, created their first project in Kotlin, and enjoyed programming in Kotlin from the bottom of their hearts.

The event was for two consecutive days and the second day was just as great and beautiful as yesterday, but for me, the most interesting and unforgettable moments were the moment when each of the students thanked me on behalf of Google for hosting this program. They were cheerful, interested in continuing their android lessons, and passionate about the next events.

Each of them was happy and had a new hope, a new way to succeed in their future, and a new enthusiasm was given to them. They had already learned how to build the apps they see on their mobile phones, and no doubt that if they worked hard, they could build such apps, and it was very valuable for me to make it clear to everyone that I was fortunate to be able to do so.

Now, most of our university students are familiar with the Kotlin programming language. Each of them is working on a new design and a new project and they are very happy that Google introduced them with Android.

I wanted to write more and more, but words can’t express my deep feelings. I want to express that how much I was waiting for this Program, and I wanted to good launching of the program I had searched a lot about android and using Kotlin Language, and like this, I have asked teachers and people who had experience about it, and somewhat I understood about android and Kotlin. As well as hundreds of students could learn and to get to know that working with the great technologies of Google how much would add to their capacity and make them reach where.

We are currently working on several mobile applications. Building a dictionary in three languages: Dari, Pashto, and English, a program to convert Persian manuscripts into typed text, a photo editor that will adjust each image to its world standard formats, a regular system for restaurants and its general control through mobile phones and like this, several other plans and programs that will solve all the needs of society to some extent.

The motivation for making all of these ideas started with this program and enabled us to think and do something new.

Thank you to Mr. Jawid Mowahed, who has always supported and encouraged us and has a special place in the heart of each student. I am very grateful to dear Dr. Yama Ramin, who never hesitates to make us understand and teach us. A great thanks to all the members of the DSC team who worked side by side and made this program so great. And a special thanks from all the students of Aria University and from myself to Google and Developer Student Clubs, who provide the ground for the growth of talents by launching such a program and our support. We are no longer the students of yesterday, we have become very empowered since yesterday, and today we can use Kotlin to carry out our plans well. Thank you so much!

--

--

Soroshshiwa
Google Developer Student Clubs
0 Followers

GDSC Lead at Google Developers Senior Graphic Designer