Kirill Zaitsev

Evgeny Sugakov
Developers’ days
Published in
3 min readSep 13, 2016

Who are you and what do you do?

My name is Kirill Zaitsev and I am a Ruby developer.

What is your day like?

7.00 First alarm.

8.00 Second alarm.

9.00 Main alarm, I should wake up at this time, but sometimes sleep wins, I fall asleep and as a result I am very late for work.

9.20 I go to the bus stop near my house, and wait for my bus.

10.10 I arrive at the nearest bus stop to my work and have to walk to the office which takes 10–15 mins.

10.30 I come to the office on the 8th floor, nobody is there, I go to the kitchen and make myself a coffee. Some colleagues are coming at this moment.

10.40 Now I go to my desk, open my MacBook, and check Github. Sometimes I’ve got a few notices or comments on my pull requests, and
try to fix it.

11.20 Team leader comes, and we hold a daily meeting.

11.50 I’ve got some tasks from the team leader at Asana. I create a new feature branch and open vim. Today I need to implement some API endpoints with Elasticsearch.

13.20 I’m hungry, with some of my colleagues we go for lunch to the canteen next to the office. Today I have borch, turkey in a creamy sauce, some
buckwheat, and a tomato juice. At lunch we discuss a lot of topics, sometimes politics, sports or our job.

14.00 I continue working on a new feature. An iOS developer comes and asks how to place points on the map. And I’ll go to elasticsearch documentation to read about bounding box.

14.40 I write some rspec tests to check how bounding boxes works. Looks cool, and now my API can load the required data. It’s time to open a new pull request and wait for a review.

15.00 Go for another cup of coffee. Get another bug ticket from asana, I try to reproduce this bug, and identify the cause of its occurrence.

16.40 Switching back to the pull request sent yesterday, I’ve got some suggestions from the team leader. Ok git stash. I edit my yesterday’s code. Done. Now I have to wait for the tests running on CI. The tests are green.

17.10 Going to play darts with my colleagues.

17.40 Continue my bug fix. Ok, git stash apply.

18.10 Deploy my bug fix to staging, and ping QA to check it.

18.20 Bug fix accepted, open pull request on Github, and call team leader.

18.50 Bug fix merged, and deployed to production. So looks like my PR can be reviewed tomorrow and I can go home.
I say goodbye to colleagues, and go to bus stop.

20.00 I arrive home and cook dinner, today it’s chicken wings with honey mustard and rice

20.40 Watch TV

22.30 Read a book about Erlang before bedtime.

2.30 It seems I’m too carried away, I go to sleep and hope not to oversleep my work tomorrow.

What instruments or software help you in your life and work?

VIM — is all I need :)

--

--