Primary Research about interpersonal communication

Jinho Tae
Developing Communication Skill in Business
2 min readFeb 24, 2018

I’ve done so many conversations with a lot of people in my club. The main purpose was having new friends since I’m a new member of that club, but there was another positive consequence. Because I want to improve more accurate and efficient oral communication skill in English, I have to face with native Americans. And I believe hanging out and having conversations with my friends and new friends from the club will be beneficial for a certain amount of improvements. As far as I’m concerned, I’m confident that my English conversation skill has been improved compared to 1 year ago when I first came to this country because of my American friends. They’re very concerning, supportive, and kind even though my English is not as perfect as they are. And their behaviors built up my confidence when I speak English. We’ve never been in negotiating or persuading situations, but I believe if I imitate and learn the way they speak, I will be able to be not only a good listener but also be a good negotiator because they don’t hurt someone else’s feeling and they pretend they’re not angry but they precisely describe what they want to say even though there’s a negative situation.

Based on those facts and experiences, I believe my oral communication skill has been improved because I can speak out exactly what I want to say now in English, not like past time when I was not able to describe my thinking precisely. A few weeks later, I will be doing the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) program which is volunteering to help people who generally make $54,000 or less to get a tax return. I don’t hope but I’m expecting there will be some amount of conflicts with people who come to me because it’s my first time to do this volunteering, so I may make a mistake. Therefore, I’m pretty sure that time will be the best chance to develop my persuading and negotiating skill.

--

--