Respond to “Persuading my Supervisor”

Jinho Tae
Developing Communication Skill in Business
3 min readMar 4, 2018

Sara Walters showed her fantastic experience about how did she improve persuading communication skill and how did that process go. I was glad to read she succeeded persuading her supervisor, so she will be able to extend her internships over the summer. As I’m a student who is seeking an internship as well, her courage, action, and experience were helpful to get an insight how the real workplace life might go.

Outstanding points of Walters posting and Response to them
She writes about her personal experience which is highly related to her topic. Also, improvement of persuading communication skill is one of my goals to achieve at the end of this assignment, but unfortunately, I haven’t had a chance to deal with real work life experience. So, I thought I might as well read someone else’s posting about persuasive communication and get the insight from him or her. And Walters’ posting was just so perfect to understand how frustrating and nervous when it comes to persuading supervisor.
The most powerful idea from her was “I made use of a you-emphasis technique. I knew that I would be more successful if I focused on how hiring me for the summer would benefit her and the company as a whole than if I focused on how it would benefit me” (2018). You-emphasis was one of the techniques that I have learned while I was doing assignments in MGG 303, and Walters used that specific skill in real life. Although many people already know that you-emphasis would be the perfect technique to persuade someone else, they often forget the importance of it and just talk about how important and beneficial this job would be to them. But, Walters made it possible as much persuasive as she could.
Moreover, I was impressed with Walters decided to communicate orally and verbally with her supervisor to get her internship extension. She mentioned, “I could try to communicate persuasively through my voice, and she would still a permanent written record of what I said so that she could reference it later” (2018). People often say in the real business situation, paper speaks everything. And she exactly knows how the real business goes and how she should convey her idea to her supervisor for persuasion. At this part, I guessed that she has developed her skill for a long time, and she became almost an expert to persuade someone.

What I decide to do?
Finally, it was great to know that she will be working on to improve communication skills for very long time. “I plan on continuing to work on these skills for a very long time in an effort to make myself stand out in academic and workplace settings” (2018). After I read her posting, just like she said, I would be glad to working on to improve myself too. It should be challenging and sometimes burdening, but I’m confident there will be a time that I consider everything I have done was worthy.

Citation
Walters, S. (2018, March 01). Persuading my Supervisor — Developing Communication Skills for Business — Medium. Retrieved March 04, 2018, from https://medium.com/developing-communication-skills-for-business/persuading-my-supervisor-d6fcbaabbf46

--

--