Interview with YouTuber MK-Smart-house!

elliot agency
Developing Voice
Published in
4 min readJun 5, 2017

--

Matt Kaczynski, the owner of MK Smart House, has very nicely agreed to do an interview with Developing Voice. MK Smart House is a YouTube channel that started only 4 months ago and already has over 8000 subscribers and already has over 320,000 views! The YouTube channel is all about guiding people through the journey of creating your very own ultimate smart home.

Videos cover different projects and the walkthroughs needed to help us create our very own smart home with advanced technology and home automation at the core.

Below are some questions that Matt, creator of MK Smart House, answered. Thank you again Matt!

Why do you find Home Automation so interesting?

I find home automation so interesting because I have always liked the idea of making life easier and automating things you do everyday.

Did you start the website www.mksmarthouse.com first, or the YouTube channel?

I started both at the same time when I posted my first YouTube video I also launched the site.

Did you think that your channel would grow so quickly?

No, I never thought my channel would grow this quick. I also never thought my first video would get so much traction and so many views. But the biggest thing I am surprised about is how much positivity came from people about my videos.

How do you think devices such as the Google Home and Amazon Echo will affect home automation?

Devices like the Google home and Amazon echo will affect home automation by making automation and accomplishing tasks much easier. Just like in Iron Man, Jarvis did anything he told it to and even did things before he asked. I see the Google home and Echo evolving in the future to become to Jarvis and even better. Another thing they do is make automation more mainstream for the public because since the echo came more people have become interested in the smart home technology.

Why are you so passionate about DIY?

I am passionate about DIY because I like understanding how things work. I also like designing things and make them work the way I want and do what I want. In addition DIY is much cheaper and more fun.

What plans do you have in the future regarding your smart home?

The plans for my smart home is keep making life easier. What I mean by this is automation tasks I do on a day to day basis like I did with my blinds, I open them everyday so why not have a device do it.

Video by MK SmartHouse with 140,000 views!

What skill levels and budgets do people need to follow along on your projects?

The skill level to follow along with my projects is not very high because I make it super simple for people to follow. I show every single step, I even show you how to solder. In terms of budget, you do not need a lot of money to accomplish this. I started doing DIY smart home devices because everything is expensive.

When do you think we will achieve the smart home dream, the one we see in the movies?

I have no idea when I will accomplish the smart home dream, hopefully very soon.

Lastly, do you have any secret projects or home automation ideas that you are secretly working on, that you could potentially give us some insight into?

Right now I am not working on any secret projects, Right now I am just trying to get all my current projects into videos for everyone to see and make.

Thank you for the interview Matt and be sure to subscribe to his YouTube channel!

If you enjoy Smart Homes, Automation, Google Home, Alexa or any of the other voice controlled devices then be sure to follow Developing Voice on Medium!

--

--

elliot agency
Developing Voice

An internet focused start up making waves as we read