Does your emotional intelligence really impact people??

Haley Harrington
Development of Emotional Intelligence
3 min readSep 29, 2017

Question:

Did you every stop and wondering just how important it is to have emotional development in the workplace?

Do you know how much you reaction to your emotions and others emotions can effect not just yourself but the people around you?

You may think that your emotions do not really impact people and that people will just go on with their day and not think twice about it. Although you may think that, you do have a huge impact on others. The way you handle yourself and respond to your own feelings affect people. The better you can get a handle on your emotions, the more successful you will be in your work.

My experience
I put this in practice so I can show that people really do affect others. I have been working at an ice cream shop for five years now. With working there, I have dealt with a lot of customers. Some very nice and polite, and others not so much. I had to learn how to deal with the tough customers.

I have to make sure that I control my own feelings when I am working with these types of customers. Being able to sense that the customer is getting upset or mad is an important key to be able to control their feelings. Controlling your feelings and their feelings is a great way to be able to control the situation.

This is not just helpful with customers but other coworkers. When I can sense the feelings of my coworkers, I can help them in situations that are difficult for them. One time one of my coworkers was dealing with a tough customer about our prices. I could sense that my coworker was getting uncomfortable and did not know how to respond.

I step in at this point to help her out. I knew the customer was mad so I calmed them down and explained that employees have nothing to do with the prices. After being polite and calm, the customer calm down and understood.

So when you are in a situation that you need to use your emotional intelligence, remember these 4 simples and easy tips:
1. Stay calm
2. Control your own emotions
3. Sense what the other persons emotions are
4. Respond accordingly

Controlling your own feeling is crucial in emotional intelligence. When I am working, the way that I react and respond to people will affect me and them daily. This not only goes for customers but also my bosses and coworkers.

Maren Hogan writes in one of her blogs,

“Wake up to the power of your own influence, learn your own triggers, and make an honest commitment to forging positive relationships with your workforce.” (Hogan, 2016)

Realize that you do make an impact in other peoples’ life. Know your influences on them. Know what triggers not only yours but others emotions. Put this into practice at your work. You will be more successful and have positive impacted on people. Like Hogan stated it is time to wake up and realize we need to have more positive relationship with people.

Citation:
Hogan, M. (2017, September 28). Wise up for emotional intelligence in the workplace. [Web log post]. Retrieved from https://medium.com/@marenhogan/wise-up-for-emotional-intelligence-in-the-workplace-12c8d4492a87

--

--