Starting off

Haley Harrington
Development of Emotional Intelligence
2 min readSep 21, 2017

Hi I am Haley Harrington, and I am in my second year at the University of Buffalo. I am a full time student and I have a part time job that I have been at for five years now. I learned a lot of skills while working and worked with a lot of different people. However, I also have some skills that need improvement. These blog will be dedicated to developing the skill of emotional intelligence. I believe this is very important to have in the workplace. I am a strong believer that work is more than just making money or getting things done. It is about getting something out of work that will make it exciting and worth wild. It is about making connections with your co-workers and bosses. With having emotional intelligence, this will help with making connections to your peers in the workplace. To be able to be aware of your emotions and how to handle others emotions is very important, especially in the workplace. To be aware and control one’s feelings will help you work better with people and help you with personal and professional relationships. Emotional intelligent people can help cheer up or calm down someone in a situation because they can sense what the person is feeling. This will take practice to develop this skill. With anything, you must practice, practice, and practice some more to excel in a skill. I plan to draw from past experience and use them to learn. I will also learn from others and see how they communicate with people and take their emotion in consideration while having conversations. I will then look at myself and how I react to others emotion and reflect on it. I will do more research to find the best ways I can improve with this skill. Tune in to the next blog as I will start to improve my skill and give an update!

--

--