Memorable first month at CloudFactory

Sabita Neupane
Devnetwork
Published in
4 min readAug 22, 2018

Humm! It’s been one month I have been working here at CloudFactory with a great excitement. On July 16, 2018 I began my journey at CloudFactory as an Engineering Apprentice, the amazing and mesmerizing day. Don’t know why my first day at work was amazing and full of excitement even though I had already visited CloudFactory couple of times before. Well, my first visit was 2 years ago which was my company visit and also got chance to meet some female engineer including some developer and QA. Talking with them, sharing knowledge and experience, visiting different department was all the part of my visit to CloudFactory. Since then I always wondered what it was like to be the one sitting at the desk doing real work. And this actually happened as I was called for the interview. So, my second visit was for interview, the day I was very afraid and nervous before the interview but after my interview I was feeling very positive and happy as it went very good and after few days I got an offer letter from CloudFactory to join as engineering apprentice. Even though I always wanted to be a QA engineer, there was fear within me as after working as web designer for 2.5 years I was joining CloudFactory as QA, which was already a challenge for me but still I was super excited that I will be part of CloudFactory and QA Team.

Then, here comes my first day at CloudFactory which was initiated with orientation where they talked about principles, values and history of CloudFactory which was followed by Nepal all hands whose motive is to build relationship among the core members. As stated by CloudFactory principles “We build relationship”, people were sharing their personal experience, department wins with one another. And the day when I got to introduce myself, the environment was so friendly that I received a warm welcome from everyone. Later, I was taken to my desk and while walking through the office the imaginary sequences of things that I had feared for the day that everyone turning away and ignoring me started to creep into my mind. But to my surprise the actual scenario was quite different, everyone was so friendly and so welcoming that I felt like home.

The best thing I experienced on my first day was ‘meet and eat’ session where every day we had to meet each member from different depart and express our experience and feeling. And my first ‘meet and eat’ session was with the whole QA team which was a moment to remember. Also every week we have Team time session where people from different departments come together and work on different activities which allows each person to express their ability, interest and skill which was quite interesting to experience. CloudFactory belief that togetherness can bring a big change to the world is truly inspiring. As CloudFactory beliefs in Team Time that it helps in deep bonding within their team where we share thoughts, feelings and experience .

Learning lots of documents, knowing about different engineering Squads and their roles with responsibilities, knowing different tools like Github, JIRA, Xmind and then jump start to QA onboarding process was a pleasant opportunity and moment of my life. Though QA first meeting was full of words that went above my head but then after second meeting it was informative as well as attention seeking as I was getting to know about QA process, bugs and fixes. And my working day starts with daily check-in within the squads members where we discuss about our work progress, previous work update, upcoming task and new releases.Then our work as a whole is summarized in a weekly check-in within the squad where we discuss about previous and upcoming work. And these check-in seems very effective for me to understand about the work currently going on. Yeah! I must say these check-ins were really very helpful for me.

Engineering squads, QA onboarding process, testing strategies, Xmind test cases, Github, git command, JIRA story board, Active record query, RESTFUL APIs and then after long training period a moment comes where finally a testing job was assigned to me. Little nervous but with a blissful smile I finally completed the task and then again another huge moment which was my first ever feature release at Production environment. OMG! Sometimes I wonder how lucky someone can be with lots of great thrilling moment in-hands as within very less time I have grown my skill from zero level knowledge of QA to this point.

And this was how a month completed with lots of excitement, sharing, meeting new people, having lunch with them, playing Carom board and creating a strong bonding with each other at CloudFactory and who knows there might be more in store for me. And whenever I look back on these day, there have been many learning as CloudFactory serves new things to learn every day. And the journey of QA was quite interesting at CloudFactory with lots of learning and sharing.

--

--