How to design an SSM Parameter Store for multi-region replication support — AWS Infrastructure Architecture

Why multi-region replication for SSM Parameter Store?

replication is a nice way to be sure your data are working for multi-region if your application is designed to run in multi-regions, in my case I search for multi-region replication of SSM Parameter Store when I play around with CloudFront and Lambda@Edge functions.

In my case, I got the issue you can’t send environment option inside Lambda@Edge functions and I should store the settings I need into an SSM Parameter Store, and it only created in US-EAST-01 where I create my Lambda@Edge function inside else it wants to work with replicate.

If not I have designed this infrastructure architecture for my replication of the SSM Parameter Store I should do it's manually our build some scheduler job with a delay to keep my SSM Parameter Store updated across all regions.

Listen to SSM Parameter Store changes events

What I did here was to create a rule with an event pattern where sources are aws.ssm and detail_type are set to Parameter Store Change in my AWS CDK code, then I use the operation there to trigger my rule event on Create, Update, Delete and…

--

--

Paris Nakita Kejser
DevOps Engineer, Software Architect and Software Developering

DevOps Engineer, Software Architect, Software Developer, Data Scientist and identify me as a non-binary person.