Developers should stop using Mac books

netscape101
DevOpsOnTheBlock
Published in
3 min readJul 17, 2019

I have been working since 2012 and since around 2015 I’ve been working on a Mac. I am also pretty clued on with what goes on around the world and also try to stay clued up with things that concern me.

Why do I want to stop using a Mac book?

Here is the quote from the TV series Mr Robot:

Image from:https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRSvBofHaCs0rMgaw-nAtrniFgoptQLlqkKtsnwZ4rJYfo4trld

“Is it that, we collectively thought that, Steve Jobs was a great man? Even when we knew he made billions off the backs of children. Or maybe it’s that it feels like all our heroes are counterfeit. The world itself is just one big hoax. Spamming each other with our commentary bullshit masquerading as insight. Our social media faking us into intimacy, or is that we voted for this? Not with our rigged elections, but with our things, our property, our money. I’m not saying anything new, we all know why we do this. Not because Hunger games books makes us happy, but because we want to be sedated. Because it’s painful not to pretend, because we’re cowards. F*** Society.”

Here is the video where the quote comes from:

Besides that the cost of a mac book is really going to cost way more than it ever cost before and I’m talking about the dollar cost not the cost of lives
that possibly died making it:
https://www.theverge.com/circuitbreaker/2019/6/3/18651001/apples-mac-pro-xdr-display-monitor-stand-expensive-dongle-not-included-wwdc-2019

Why am I using a Mac book right now?

I use a macbook cause it is convenient and my job requires me to have a computer with a long battery life and super stable operating system.
I also need access to things that make my life easier, things like TimeMachine, Airdrop etc. That being said is it okay that I put my morals aside for the rest of the year while I still use this mac book? I don’t know, but it’s kinda hard to be the only guy at work who is not on a Mac book when everyone else. We will have to try change the minds of most developers to get buy in on this idea. I admit it’s wrong of me to have used a macbook up till now.

Image from: http://www.quickmeme.com/img/87/87908cbe50a4996d12a7074b76b891e44a97f4abc959b22123035c12ddf95a23.jpg

Do I really need all this luxury?
Not really, I have been a Linux and OpenBSD user for years and I can go back to being one, even at work.
Much of the modern OSX userland actually comes from OpenBSD: PF, LibreSSL, OpenSSH etc all come from OpenBSD.

Child Slaves:

Child slaves and robots that replace human employees. This is not an article on Apple or Foxcon’s human right’s violations, but make your own assumptions.

Can I live with my decisions?

I can, if my decision is to no longer use a Macbook in 2020.

--

--