Find Rest When Stressed

Two Ways to Find Rest When Stressed

Hadassah Treu I Author
Devotable
Published in
3 min readJun 23, 2021

--

Source: all-free-download.com

A phone call with my mum turned my morning preparations for a good and productive day upside down. She could barely speak, explaining that she had a crisis of strong vertigo, rendering her helpless in bed.

My hands trembled with anxiety and frustration. This was another problem in the long strain of difficult situations that had been wearing me down for months.

I cried out in utter frustration, “Please, Lord, give me a break, I simply can’t take it anymore! I am completely depleted and just want to rest.”

Two Ways to Find Rest When Stressed

Have you been there, friend? When you are near to despair, asking every day, “How long, oh Lord, how long?” When you don’t have the strength to carry another burden, to solve one more problem, to meet one more need?

When in misery, it is very tempting to resign and pull back in anger and frustration. However, the best way to find rest when stressed is to look up to the Lord and set our minds and hearts to wait for His help and deliverance.

This is exactly what the prophet Micah declares amid Israel’s misery:

“But as for me, I watch in hope for the Lord, I wait for God my Savior; my God will hear me.”

--

--

Hadassah Treu I Author
Devotable

Hadassah Treu is an award-winning Christian blogger, poet, speaker and author of “Draw Near: How Painful Experiences Become the Birthplace of Blessings.”