Is Being Good or Even Great Enough?

What if it’s not?

Jenny Calvert
Devotable
4 min readMar 1, 2022

--

“Why do you call me good?” Jesus answered. “No one is good — except God alone.” Luke 18:19

Photo by Gabriel Sanchez on Unsplash

My life is closer to its end than to its beginning, and that’s fine with me. When musing over my life experiences, one thought causes me to contemplate. I never accomplished anything substantial or noteworthy. Will God be pleased with me when He calls me home?

I was never a star gold medal athlete, world-renowned opera singer, accomplished author, famous actor, or teacher of the year. I never even ate enough hotdogs to earn a spot in the Guinness Book of World Records. I have missed my goals of completing projects, dieting, finishing books, and more. In a world of millions, I feel like one inconsequential, unaccomplished, and mediocre speck.

Are you a member of this same club?

Inferior vs. Superior

According to American researcher, author, speaker, and consultant, Jim Collins, in his book, Good to Great: Why Some Companies Make the Leap. . .and Other’s Don’t. good is the enemy of greatness. He said,

“Few people attain great lives, in large part because it is just so easy to settle for a good life.”

And to make matters worse, according to the University of Scranton concerning New Year goals, only 8% of people achieve them. I quit making New Year resolutions because I am in the group of 92% failures. How will I ever obtain a “great” life goal if I can’t even reach a one-year “good” goal?

I can sulk in the realization of being in the 92%, or I can toss out unfinished guilt-feeding projects, resolutions, plans, and dreams and claim Christ’s accomplishment in me. I can stew in my anonymity, or I can ascertain my uniqueness of being created in the Supreme Creator’s image.

Which option is healthier and realistic?

Jesus, who was perfect in all ways, fully accomplishing all that He planned, said, “No one is good — except God alone.” In reality, my goodness will never be good enough. And in the end, any achiever’s exceptionalism is still not enough.

Famous People

I am pleased that Edison developed devices in electric power generation. It has made my life easier. I am pleased that Corrie Ten Boom divulged her faith story bringing many to the forgiving grace of Jesus Christ. I am astounded that Michael Phelps holds the record for Olympic gold medals, encouraging athletes to work toward their prize.

These people did admirable astonishing things, but even their glory of fame is dim in the light of God’s goodness..

What does this mean? Should we not strive for betterment, goodness, or greatness? No! God has a plan for each of us, and we should do our best to fulfill His intentions for our lives. He has given us unique gifts for His purposes and glory.

When we begin to feel small, defeated, or think our life doesn’t matter, let’s remember God put much thought and love into each of us, giving us our unique set of fingerprints. He loves us enough to know the number of hairs on our head. He gifted us with skills and abilities. The best part of all is that God thinks we are worthy of redeeming us to share in His glory.

Back to the question

So back to the question, “Is our good enough?” Good is not enough by our power alone, and neither is outstanding. However, we are not hopeless. By faith, God instills the goodness of Himself into us through His Son, Jesus Christ. His righteousness makes us better than good; it makes us perfect, holy, and clean. He equips and empowers us for His glory. When God calls us home, He will see this and be very pleased.

Would you like to be the best you can be? Through Christ Jesus you can be great!

Devotable is a brand spreading the word of God to everyone around the world. If you like what we’re doing, please connect with us. Comment, like, or share and help us move God’s message across the globe. Join or mailing list for daily inspiration in your inbox.

--

--

Jenny Calvert
Devotable

Jenny is a Christian devotional writer. She writes for several magazines, books, and online venues, sharing the peace, hope, and light of Christ.