The Prayer God Will Answer

The Best Kind of Prayer

Hadassah Treu I Author
Devotable
Published in
4 min readJun 10, 2022

--

Girl praying
Source: all-free-download.com

There are different kinds of prayers, but one prayer God will answer always. This is the prayer for glorifying His name.

I heard the alarm ringing, but I didn’t want to open my eyes. Dark and hopeless thoughts started running through my mind like wild horses. There was nothing good waiting for me on that day, I thought. I preferred sleeping and dreaming of my husband, instead of being awake in the brutal reality of a world in which he was no longer. I didn’t want to live in such a world, dark and empty. I struggled to accept my lot as a fresh widow.

“Lord, show me how to pray,” I cried out. It was difficult to find words to express my struggle and pain.

I opened my Bible to John chapter 12 and read the passage in which Jesus predicted his death. According to the Bible, His soul was troubled, but I wondered about the anguish and dread that He most probably felt about His upcoming death. His first impulse was to pray to be saved from this hour of His ordeal. But right after shooting this half prayer, half question, He said: “no” and He changed his prayer to

“Father, glorify your name!” (John 12:27–30)

The Prayer God Will Answer

--

--

Hadassah Treu I Author
Devotable

Hadassah Treu is an award-winning Christian blogger, poet, speaker and author of “Draw Near: How Painful Experiences Become the Birthplace of Blessings.”