Halsey’s Manic Mediates

Poetry homage to my invisible friends

Dex Alvaro
Portfolio
2 min readMay 21, 2020

--

Source: Halsey’s Manic album on Spotify

I’m going crazy, and I can’t ignore the voices inside my head
They bother me, day and night, always revolting, demanding
Their freedom. Like my own independence is worth nothing
Little do they know that my real life is on pause, sheltered
Nevertheless, they whine, fight for my attention
Their war cry, “Liberate us, warden, or pay the consequence!”
I have yet to find a way to release the one’s on probation
I’ve promised the people on cell block VRM3 that it will be soon
Mixie leads the revolution and claims I have too many distractions

The guilt of overpromising and underdeliver is haunting me
I pick-up my headphone and blast Halsey’s Manic to mediate

In the past, I’ve managed to communicate without a go-between
All I have to do is close my eyes and telepathically visit each one
That was when they live in a virtual paradise; now it’s gone
With Halsey’s help, however, it seems like the revolution is dead
Though each time I meet a new friend, they yell, “Don’t get distracted.”
How mad they are for being stuck inside my head
To curb their rage Halsey’s Manic keeps them sane
So, I close my eyes and schedule a visit with Mixie
And I tell her, “Soon. They will know your story.”

Thank you for reading!

--

--