Symphony of Seas

m. h. Lois Jennel
DFLT
Published in
3 min readMar 30, 2020

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-PyAkTW5HDU

Play the song above in the background. Even though this article is a fraction of the song I encourage you to sit back with your thoughts and reflections.

Enjoy the serenity, enjoy Brahms.

This past month I have been dwelling upon many questions regarding what is symphony? How can I observe it in my worldview? Why is there relevance? Surprisingly enough, a revelation came to me to post a comedic ordeal.

When dropping my partner off for work at a Westfield Shopping Centre, I happened to find myself needing the bathroom. I went to the nearest bathroom to drop the kids off at the pool, yet little did I know what was about to unfold: ‘clunk, spin, clunk’, were the dreaded sounds of the empty toilet roll spinning on its spool.

I sat there in disbelief, pulled my big lady pants up to my knees and called out for assistance. My plea fell upon nobodies ears, let alone deaf ones. My thoughts running, I decided my next course of action. The bathroom I was using was laid out as two stalls next to another, so I poked my head out the door and darted out as quickly as my Zoidberg shuffle would allow me. I sat down locked myself back in. You would think I’d be sighing in relief at this point but I was not relieved but very bewildered.

My dilemma was made bigger when again, the sounds of an empty toilet roll spun against my fingertips. Feeling hopeless and desperate, I suddenly had a light bulb moment. I was glad to have brought with me two things: the car keys and my phone. I dialed the Westfield Centre and received a friendly voice of a young security chap. Once I eloquently explained my situation he also found the comedy in my predicament. It’s suffice to say that it’s always important to bring your phone with you. I can also say that shopping centres can do stall service.

I shared my episode of comedy to my Facebook and continued on with my day as my thoughts lingered back to symphony. The words comedy, commencement and the letter ‘c’ sprang to the forefront of my monsoon like thought process.

The commencement of my day had a comedic overture. As I progressed through my week, I identified several instances which encapsulated my thoughts on symphony. To continue the alliteration certain personal experiences placed my feelings of chaos, calm and confusion.

Watching waves crash over the Bogey Hole, Newcastle.

The specifics of my experiences are not necessary to understand the concepts of how these words concur with the idea of symphony. It’s more to highlight how this symphony you are listening to has crescendos- much the same as my life and yours. As the song continues its journey, the music reflects notions of clarity. I observed this idea of clarity amidst my thoughts of self-reflection and finding myself in situations where I needed direction.

I want to give you the reader a compressed literary piece that explains symphony as a thought process.

I’ve determined that even a “Symphony” may have a conclusion, experiences in my life are not necessarily concluding but are opportunities for change to occur. Specifically, noting these words: commencement, comedy, chaos, calm, confusion, clarity, conclusion and change. This is is how I discovered “Symphony of Seas”.

The way in which we think is a “Symphony,” not just a cacophony of external noise but a process in which we carry ourselves in this day and age. Our thoughts on how we approach even the mundane parts of our lives, is a “Symphony.”

A collection of many different experiences, feelings and thoughts echoing in our minds that come together to create our memories. Those memories are like the sheet music an orchestra would use. The conductor is our own conscious thought which is essential in making choices and giving direction in where we wish to go.

Candidly, I’ll leave you with this; the ‘C’ words aforementioned is the symphony of self-reflection.

Did you enjoy this article about symphony? Do you have your own story to share? Email us at dfltfailure@gmail.com to submit it. Want to stay “in the loop”, on what’s happening at DFLT? Interested in becoming a writer? Sign up for a newsletter here!

--

--

m. h. Lois Jennel
DFLT
Editor for

Harzl 🌻 Unapologetically myself. A Creative, created by the creator, creating creations creatively.