DhiWise x Stack Exchange: Finding Q&As Quicker

Yash Pancholi
DhiWise
Published in
5 min readSep 28, 2022

Every developer has at least one place to go when in doubt, that is Stack Overflow. And despite being around for ages, there are a few things about this platform that needs fixing. Isn’t it?

Today, we will do the same by making a less overwhelming version of Stack Overflow, with DhiWise by our side.

But first, here is a quick overflowing refresher.

Stack Overflow is well recognized as a public question-and-answer platform. Stack Overflow assists individuals in finding answers to any query. Every month, millions of individuals use Stack Overflow to ask questions, learn, and share technical expertise.

It’s good but with an issue!
The issue I’ve had with Stack Overflow is that I can’t find all of the Questions and Answers submitted by a single user in one go. To do this, I must go to stack overflow, then to the user’s tab, and then to the search tab. From there, I must search for the user and finally find his/her profile. Then, I need to discover the Questions and Answers on his profile.

To locate another individual, I must start from the beginning. Frustrating, I know!

To address this issue, I created this web application by utilizing DhiWise and the APIs of Stack Exchange (a network of Q&A websites of which Stack Overlow is a part).

DhiWise is a programming platform where developers can convert their designs into developer-friendly code for mobile and web apps. DhiWise automates the application development lifecycle and instantly generates readable, modular, and reusable code.

Let’s now analyze the requirements for creating this application.

  • Prior to Figma creation keeping up with DhiWise’s standards.

Steps in developing an application:

  1. I imported Figma to DhiWise.
  2. The next stage was to implement the page navigations.
  3. Then I used DhiWise to integrate all of the APIs.
  4. To build the application, I selected the “Build” option.
  5. Finally, I used DhiWise plugin to sync the DhiWise generated code with VS Code.

Figma to React

  • I uploaded the Figma into DhiWise to build the entire user interface, and DhiWise automatically pulled all the pages and navigation prototypes from Figma.

Implementation using DhiWise:

  1. After uploading the Figma to DhiWise, all screens were displayed on the application’s Dashboard.

2. Next, the Navigations and APIs were added to DhiWise API management. Finally, I generated a Postman collection of all the APIs and added them to DhiWise’s API management segment.

3. Then, I used the following APIs of Stack Exchange in my application:

  • To get the details of the User
https://api.stackexchange.com/2.3/users
  • To get the Questions of a particular user
https://api.stackexchange.com/2.3/users/USER_ID/questions
  • To multiple questions
https://api.stackexchange.com/2.3/questions/Question_IDS
  • To get the Answers of users
https://api.stackexchange.com/2.3/users/USER_ID/answers
  • To get an Answer to a specific question
https://api.stackexchange.com/2.3/questions/Question_ID/answers

4. I integrated APIs with the view component after importing APIs into DhiWise. Using this functionality saved me a significant amount of time by eliminating the need to write API call functions and response binding manually.

5. I bound the Modal on the pages after integrating the APIs. Then, using DhiWise’s create action functionality, it became much easier to include Modal in the application.

6. To check the code generated by DhiWise, I clicked the build button. This opened the entire boilerplate code palette in a new tab.

DhiWise Code Sync in VS Code:

I synced DhiWise generated code in VS Code using DhiWise VS Code Extension. The application token is a crucial additional element required to do this activity.

This application token is copied from the Dashboard page of the project and pasted into Visual Studio Code. The code is synchronized within seconds of inserting the token into VS Code. Relatively quick, I must say!

And that’s how DhiWise helped me build a less intimidating version of Stack Overflow. I saved time and effort in the process.

Below is the detailed Technical Document link:

GitHub Repository:

About me

I am Yash Pancholi, Programmer Analyst at DhiWise.
DhiWise is a programming automation tool for developers that generates web and mobile app code for designs.

You can find me on LinkedIn and Twitter. We can talk about dev tools and technologies.

--

--