Diplomacy: A Non-Tariff Option

Michelle Klieger
Dialogue & Discourse

--

China needs better intellectual property protections. The United States should have worked with allies to force change.

Photo by Vladislav Klapin on Unsplash

After the first couple of articles I wrote, people tried to guess my political affiliations. My goal in these articles was not to share my political views, but rather to share facts and background information that people would need to understand the nightly news. I aim to make tariff and trade news more approachable. The problem is: we like labels. We want to easily decide if we agree or disagree with someone based on the labels applied to them. So, many people reached out to accuse me of being for or against President Trump’s policies.

When I write that I do not think the tariffs are the right choice, many people infer that I am anti-Trump. When I say I support the Administration’s effort to strengthen intellectual property protection in China, readers think I’m pro-Trump. Some people that have read both feel these two viewpoints are contradictory. I’ve answered this question more than once. I’ve written an article explaining why I am anti-tariff and pro-trade war (at this point). But I’ve clearly explained what the other options were. Or what a better plan would have been.

Intellectual property example

--

--

Michelle Klieger
Dialogue & Discourse

I’m an economist by training, a nerd at heart, and now a writer.