If it doesn’t exist, create it.

Dante Orpilla
DIALS® APP
Published in
3 min readSep 12, 2015

--

-Written by Dante Orpilla-

“Being punctual shows the world that you are organized, responsible and in control.”

-My Dad

By that metric, admittedly, I have been a terrible son. I’ve never been good at managing my time and neither was my buddy, and fellow Dials Co-Founder, Thomas. Like birds of a feather, we flocked to one miserably common flaw…we were always late. Always.

It wasn’t for lack of trying. I’ve spent hundreds of dollars on every time managing, task mastering, calendaring app on the market. One by one they’d fail to work, be forgotten, and die doing that familiar death jiggle. Then, one day over breakfast, Thomas reached his boiling point. He’d told me that he had really f***ed up and missed a business meeting that could have changed his life. In a fit of fury, he looked at his watch and said: “Why can’t I just have a calendar that looks like my watch, it’s how I learned to tell time.” At that moment, in a small eatery named Le Petit Four, two light bulbs ignited simultaneously. For the next two hours, over a dozen cups of coffee, the concept that would become Dials was scribbled out on the paper table mats.

Original Dials concept design on Le Petit Four table paper.

Richard Branson once gave up a few of his “secrets to productivity”. Item #6 was this:

Set huge, apparently unachievable challenges and then try to rise above them.

And so that day, Thomas and I decided to take that journey. The mobile calendar was broken and we’d set out to fix it. We re-thought it from the palm up. We designed it, tested it, refined it, tested it again, knocked on 1000 doors and actually FUNDED it. And, now, TODAY, our public beta is live in the App Store. We set out to make sense of time management for people who are terrible at it (us), and in effect created a solution that (finally) works.

Beta Version of DIALS App

--

--

Dante Orpilla
DIALS® APP

Protect your word like it's all you have... cause in the end, It's all you have.