Week 17 of Freelance Writing: Diary Entry # 18

Changing things up and learning to have fun with it.

Alicia Daley
Diary of a Freelance Writer
4 min readMay 1, 2022

--

woman smiling as she holds a tablet in front of her.
Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

This week I kept up my trend of trying new things, and I don’t regret it.

Read last week’s post here if you missed it:

My Schedule

The schedule was a little different this week because I had a lot of non-work things to do, including planning for a family weekend trip. Since I was going to be out on Friday I had to move everything else to adjust. That’s one of the nice things about working for myself; I can adjust my schedule or take time off whenever I need to. I will never get sick of that.

This week I took a break from drafting my novel so that I could focus on generating content for Medium and learning more about Fiverr and a couple other tools I’m trying out.

I spent most of my working time this week on articles.

Next week will be another short week since I’m traveling on Monday, but I will resume drafting my novel and I plan to publish at least two articles.

Goal Review

Paid Writing Goals

So far my Fiverr account has been quiet, but I’m still learning about how to optimize my gig and account for more views. I hope to see some interaction with it over the next couple of weeks.

I’m also thinking about trying a content website, Constant Content, where freelancers can sell completed blog posts. I didn’t realize that existed until recently, but it’s something I definitely want to learn more about.

Novel Goals

As I mentioned, I took a break from writing my novel this week, but I’m still on track to finish the first draft by the end of May. I’m going to shoot for 1500 words on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday next month.

Medium Goals

This week I published two articles!

This one I talked about in last week’s diary entry:

And this yoga article:

I’m still testing my theory about my publication reducing my chance of curation, so I didn’t add this yoga article to Savasana Today yet. I’m thinking that something else, like the length or quality of my articles, may have changed as well. Either way, I’m coming closer to a decision about my publication.

This week I tried an AI content creation tool called Jasper. I’m trying it out for one month, and I’d like to do a review of it once I’ve used it for a while. I used it to write this week’s yoga article, and I had a lot of fun with it. Obviously, AI isn’t at the point where it’s going to replace human writing, so all the text it generated for me required heavy editing and overhauling before it was publishable, but it helped me write faster and come up with more ideas. So far, I think it has potential. If you use this link to sign up, we’ll both get 10,000 credits for Jasper.

Next week, I’m going to experiment with Jasper a little more to figure out whether it’s a worthwhile tool for my purposes.

Final Thoughts

It’s easy to get overwhelmed thinking of all the things I don’t know. In fact, I do it frequently, but I’m trying to bridge the gap by learning and exploring as much as I can. It might not be the fast track to the big bucks, but it’s part of the process, and I have to trust it.

Have a great week!

Follow my publication, Diary of a Freelance Writer, and check back next Sunday for another rundown of a week in the life of a full-time freelance writer.

If you enjoy reading articles like this and aren’t yet a Medium member, you can use this link to join. You’ll get unlimited access to every article on the platform. Your $5/month membership fee will help support me as a writer and every Medium contributor whose articles you read. By using my link, I’ll earn a small commission. Thank you! 🤗

--

--